2 Pole Switch Help

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-03-17, 08:04 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
2 Pole Switch Help

I am adding a bathroom exhaust fan to our bathroom. The light switch for the existing bathroom light is through the fixture power. I bought a double pole switch - will use one pole for the existing light and the other for the new fan. Am I wrong to think this will bring power to the fan pole if I leave the breakaway tab in place? When I wire the fan itself at the fan do I leave the white cable alone and wire everything else to the black?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-03-17, 08:19 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,016
Received 42 Votes on 37 Posts
If you are saying the power to the switch comes from the light fixture you will need to run new cables to separately switch the fan.
 
  #3  
Old 12-03-17, 08:23 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, I have added 14/2 to the fan and to the second pole of the switch. Is that what you mean?
 
  #4  
Old 12-03-17, 09:11 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 55,126
Received 587 Votes on 553 Posts
The light switch for the existing bathroom light is through the fixture power.
That isn't telling us anything.

Do you have a single two wire cable at the switch ?
Or.... do you have two cables at the switch box ?
 

Last edited by PJmax; 12-03-17 at 09:55 AM. Reason: Geo spotted typo
  #5  
Old 12-03-17, 09:18 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,016
Received 42 Votes on 37 Posts
Does the existing switch only have a black and a white connected to it?
 
  #6  
Old 12-03-17, 09:46 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,213
Received 25 Votes on 24 Posts
Pete,sounds like Ebonics, (does you have?)
Geo
 
  #7  
Old 12-03-17, 10:38 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There are two wires coming in to switch box. They were hooked to a single pole switch. I bought a two pole switch. I wired the existing wire to one pole on the new switch. I then ran new 14/2 from the newly installed fan down to the second pole on the new switch. At the fan, I wired black to black, white to white and ground to ground. Checked my work, flipped switch for fan and nothing. The light on pole one did work on new switch.
 
  #8  
Old 12-03-17, 10:55 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,016
Received 42 Votes on 37 Posts
If there were only two wires you had a switch loop. There is no neutral to extend the circuit.
 
  #9  
Old 12-03-17, 10:56 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 55,126
Received 587 Votes on 553 Posts
There are two wires coming in to switch box.
The white wire is (should be) always live from the light to the switch.
The black wire is (should be) switched hot back to the light.

You have what is known as a switch loop. You do not have a neutral in the switch box. You cannot tap anything off of a switch loop.

This is what you have there.....
Name:  switchloop+.jpg
Views: 90
Size:  13.9 KB
 
  #10  
Old 12-03-17, 04:58 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for all the replies. I went back into the attic today and also looked at the wiring behind the existing light and see where the incoming power is. At this point it sounds like I run 14/3 to the new fan and then the 14/2 to the double pole switch? There is power going to an outlet also at the existing light which makes this a little less straightforward.
 
  #11  
Old 12-05-17, 07:13 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Successfully installed the new fan last night along with the double pole switch - thanks again for the replies.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: