Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Is there such a thing as an outdoor outlet


suobs's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,136
FL

12-05-17, 11:21 AM   #1 (permalink)  
Is there such a thing as an outdoor outlet

I have a series of GFCIs on one circuit from my garage out to a gate. In addition to the expense and the various problems they cause, whenever the topic comes up, people (including the great folks on this forum recently) love to point out that the first GFCI could protect a series of non-GFCI outlets on the load side.

​​​​The thing is, I'm not finding "outdoor" non-GFCI outlets anywhere. Is​​​ there such a thing? All say indoor very prominently. Does it matter?

 
Sponsored Links
ibpooks's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator

Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,123
MI

12-05-17, 11:36 AM   #2 (permalink)  
Yes, outdoor receptacles should now be rated "WR" for weather resistant. They do make non-GFCI WR receptacles but they may not be a common stock item at the big box stores.

For example: https://www.amazon.com/Leviton-W5320...+wr+receptacle

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B002FYEBPY..._t3_B002DQT5UK


Good luck with your project!
-Ben

 
Pilot Dane's Avatar
Group Moderator

Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 15,922
NC

12-05-17, 12:01 PM   #3 (permalink)  
The big thing is that an outside outlet be mounted in a weather resistant enclosure with a in use cover. Older outlet covers only protected the outlet when it was not in use. The more modern and required style allows something to be plugged in and the outlet is still protected from the elements.


 
SuperSquirrel's Avatar
Member

Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 252
MD

12-05-17, 12:31 PM   #4 (permalink)  
FWIW, my local big box home improvement store does carry both 15 and 20 amp, tamper and weather resistant (TR/WR), non-GFCI receptacles as a stock item. Only one brand and one color, but they're there.

 
suobs's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,136
FL

12-05-17, 05:07 PM   #5 (permalink)  
How about AR?
...........

 
joecaption's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,791
VA

12-05-17, 05:15 PM   #6 (permalink)  
Why is there a series of outlets on one circuit, only need one per circuit.
If the outlet supply supplying the powr to the outlet it's also protected.

 
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 39,413
NJ

12-05-17, 05:34 PM   #7 (permalink)  
Many times.... and especially with outdoor receptacles..... there is a common circuit serving several receptacles. When I install a circuit like that..... each receptacle is a GFI receptacle connected to power via LINE input. This eliminates trying to figure out which receptacle is causing a problem.

Connecting a GFI to the LOAD terminals of a previous GFI on the same circuit is a recipe for problems.


~ Pete ~

 
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9,076
MO

12-05-17, 07:13 PM   #8 (permalink)  
How about AR?

Arkansas? .................................

 
suobs's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,136
FL

12-06-17, 06:01 AM   #9 (permalink)  
AR = ant resistant. Guess they haven't thought of that yet!

 
suobs's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,136
FL

12-06-17, 10:08 AM   #10 (permalink)  
Found one model of WR/TR (nasty white with protruding outlets) in stock at HD. Had to search the shelves hard though. None at Lowe's.

 
ibpooks's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator

Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,123
MI

12-06-17, 10:17 AM   #11 (permalink)  
Posted By: Pilot Dane The big thing is that an outside outlet be mounted in a weather resistant enclosure with a in use cover. Older outlet covers only protected the outlet when it was not in use. The more modern and required style allows something to be plugged in and the outlet is still protected from the elements.

If companies are going to photoshop their product pictures, they should at least get the receptacle configuration right.


Good luck with your project!
-Ben

 
telecom guy's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,085
NY

12-06-17, 12:02 PM   #12 (permalink)  
Prolly an Englishman mirror imaged it.

 
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9,076
MO

12-07-17, 12:38 PM   #13 (permalink)  
None at Lowe's.

Sure, Lowes has them, but probably few people who work at Lowes know what they are for.


https://www.lowes.com/pd/Hubbell-15-...let/1000049869

 
Search this Thread