Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Getting Receptacles/Switches Back Into Box With 12AWG Wiring

Getting Receptacles/Switches Back Into Box With 12AWG Wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-10-17, 07:20 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 293
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Getting Receptacles/Switches Back Into Box With 12AWG Wiring

Is there a good method to getting devices back into a box with all 12AWG wiring? I'm not sure why, but there is very little 14AWG in my home. I'm wondering if it wasn't used much in the early 80s. Occasionally, I've used the device itself to push the wires back in, but that's probably not a good idea. Should I try to make a "z-shape" with the wires? It's so stiff sometimes, and it's hard to get the wires to the back of the box.
 
  #2  
Old 12-10-17, 07:48 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 75 Votes on 68 Posts
Pro's will be in soon but that is how I do it. Z or S shape them and push in.
 
  #3  
Old 12-10-17, 08:06 AM
L
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,558
Received 93 Votes on 81 Posts
Make S or Z shape and push in with device. If that doesn't work, use a small wooden stick (or anything that will not damage insulation) to push wires.
If the junction box is metallic, careful not to push wire against sharp edges (screws, clamps, knockouts). They can cut through insulation and cause a short.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: