Junction box no source

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-11-17, 08:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada, Quebec
Posts: 1,617
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Junction box no source

I have a wall box, which used to be for a light but the wires don't seem to be live even though every breaker is on.
they are oldish wires where the copper was a bit black so I cleaned then up with sandpaper but still no power.
All other receptacles or lights in the house have power so can't figure what's wrong.
My question is what do I do with these wires if I pull a new wire from the panel or another circuit? How can I terminate them since I am not sure if they're 100% dead or just a bad connection somewhere?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-11-17, 08:43 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 23,867
Received 298 Votes on 271 Posts
Assuming you can't trace or remove the wire, I would cap them and leave them in the box along with the new wire.
 
  #3  
Old 12-13-17, 01:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada, Quebec
Posts: 1,617
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What's the best way to trace it? Open up nearby lights and receptacles and locate the same wire type?
 
  #4  
Old 12-13-17, 03:44 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 8,591
Received 29 Votes on 27 Posts
Do you have any switches not working? You may have a switch loop.
 
  #5  
Old 12-13-17, 05:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada, Quebec
Posts: 1,617
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
All switches and receptacles working.
need to trace it another way
 
  #6  
Old 12-14-17, 05:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada, Quebec
Posts: 1,617
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Will a wire tracer work through the wall?
 
  #7  
Old 12-14-17, 08:54 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,306
Received 36 Votes on 34 Posts
Will a wire tracer work through the wall?
They will work to a certain extent, but will be useless unless the wire is completely disconnected from other wires. Also, if this wire runs parallel to other wires, you are more than likely to get false readings. It is hard to tell if the signal you are picking up is induced signal or the signal that is actually on the wire unless you put to probe right next to the wire. And this will be difficult without cutting the wall.

Unless you start opening every junction boxes and inspect connections, just capping the wires with wire nut is pretty much only thing you can do.

If your house has been remodeled, it could be cut and abandoned in the wall as well.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: