Rewiring receptacle on dedicated circuit

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-12-17, 11:24 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Rewiring receptacle on dedicated circuit

Hi, there currently a receptacle that is in a kitchen wall cabinet that is connected to a bedroom, bathroom and small living space circuit. Problem is, this receptacle is now servicing a microwave oven, which is not good. I was thinking about upgrading the receptacle to 20amps on it's own circuit, but the wire feeding it now, is very hard to access (On the other side of a joist on the outside wall and the wall + insulation goes up to most the joist height. These are suspended ceilings). How would I go for abandoning this wire and pulling a new one through?
 
  #2  
Old 12-12-17, 11:27 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Attached are some pictures of the current setup.
In the second photo, the wire going to the receptacle is the blue one
 
Attached Images   
  #3  
Old 12-12-17, 11:32 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here's another photo showing where the wire goes through the floor
https://photos.app.goo.gl/evguopvvQXcv4dop2
Name:  bw.jpg
Views: 121
Size:  59.8 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 12-13-17 at 08:42 PM. Reason: added pic from linkl
  #4  
Old 12-13-17, 08:46 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,854
Received 1,335 Votes on 1,234 Posts
The hole in the floor was drilled too small originally. No room now to pull another thru there. If that cables was added after the house was built... it shouldn't be fastened in and you should be able to pull a new wire with the old.

Is that #12 wiring ? If yes.... you could cut that cable and install a splice box.
Cap off the old circuit and connect the new circuit.
 
  #5  
Old 12-18-17, 12:12 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The cable is very hard to access, the floor joists and top of the wall leave only a very small space to access it, and the cable is pulled tigthly, so it will be hard to splice it to a new circuit.
I am unsure if it's #12, I can't see any markings on the wire (even after wiping the dust off of it)
 
  #6  
Old 12-18-17, 12:31 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,223
Received 103 Votes on 89 Posts
You can check the wire size with a pair of strippers or it is repeated on the outer jacket.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: