I come in shame... help with unusual circuit

Old 12-12-17, 05:49 PM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I come in shame... help with unusual circuit

I know when I am beaten and I am completely Stumped by this box. Iím no electrician but not completely useless either. I am upgrading switches to z-wave, most of which has been straightforward. I have one 3-gang box at my front door that I deleted the pic I took of it before I took it apart. The three circuits are a 3way foyer lights (no problem here), 3 way porch lights and a 3 way exterior lights with in wall timer. The foyer is fine but the other two I canít put back together. Iíve diagrammed this out as best I can:

I'm new to this asking for help thing so hopefully I'm in the right place and everything is correct- and one of you all can help. I did my best to make post clear and diagram everything out.

Middle switch:

The porch switch is center position. Black and red from 14/3 to the traveler terminals, common was pigtailed but I donít recall to what. The other switch (the next pic, 2-gang) has 2 black/1 red 14/3, the traveler terminals are continuous with the travelers from this box. I donít know where the common in the 2-gang box is from but its in the same romex with the travelers from the box below. The main box has 14/2 that I am pretty sure is the load to the lights as I get single wire continuity to the fixtures.

One of the neutrals in this box was pigtailed with Ė I think Ė two black wires and hot. I think it might have been the neutral on the 14/3 to the center 3 way switch.

Left switch:

Another 3 way, other switch is an in-wall timer in the closer. This used to be a standard timer but I switched it to a digital pls750c a few years back to tie the lights to sunset. Iíve been replacing a lot of switches, so its possible I mixed things up, but I think this was a 2-way switch/single pole switch. If thatís the case, I donít know how that would work because the 14/2 coming into the timer (3rd pic) is not hot.