GFI Tripping

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-16-17, 10:10 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 1,073
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
GFI Tripping

Have a dedicated circuit to an outdoor GFI duplex. The only things plugged in are a radon blower and sprinkler system clock. I have replaced the GFI (WR) and it continues to trip. It's winter so the clock is unplugged and only the radon fan remains. Could a poor connection at the breaker in the panel cause this?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-16-17, 11:05 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,042
Received 26 Votes on 20 Posts
A poor connection in the panel shouldn't cause the GFCI receptacle to trip. Try unplugging the radon blower and removing all load from the device and see if it still trips.
 
  #3  
Old 12-16-17, 11:06 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 8,464
Received 24 Votes on 23 Posts
Did you unplug the fan? Nothing else on load side?
 
  #4  
Old 12-16-17, 11:33 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 1,073
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Nothing on the load side and it does not trip immediately after a reset, but some hours later. Haven't tried unplugging everything and waiting a few hours. Will try that.
 
  #5  
Old 12-16-17, 11:46 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,083
Received 372 Votes on 349 Posts
Check anything in a damp area. If you find it still trips with everything disconnected.... it will usually be in an outdoor receptacle that has taken on water.
 
  #6  
Old 12-17-17, 11:54 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,042
Received 26 Votes on 20 Posts
Nothing on the load side and it does not trip immediately after a reset, but some hours later. Haven't tried unplugging everything and waiting a few hours. Will try that.

Anything plugged in is a load, you must unplug everything to remove all load from the GFCI device. The problem could be the radon blower or something as simple as the cord.
 
  #7  
Old 12-22-17, 01:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 1,073
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Follow up

GFI ok with no load. Turned out a dead bird blocked the radon blower and torched the motor. Mother Nature did not intend for any of our houses to be here.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: