GFCI Breaker and Outlet


  #1  
Old 12-17-17, 02:32 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
GFCI Breaker and Outlet

Hello, looking for some help/clarification using terminology I don't have to look up or interpret ... if I have a GFCI breaker as the circuit breaker for a circuit (it's for the garage lights, outlets and GDO's) - I do not need to have any GFCI outlets, right? Or am I completely wrong? As I understand it (and I usually do not, as it seems, understand 'it' correctly), a GFCI outlet would be useless in a GFCI breaker-ed circuit, correct? Pushing the reset button on the outlet does nothing if the breaker is tripped, right? Or do some professionals view it as a benefit to have both?

And what about the 6 feet rule or whatever it is that states how far the protected outlet can be from wherever? That wording of the code always leaves me not understanding things.

Thanks for any answers you can give.
 
  #2  
Old 12-17-17, 02:41 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,620
Received 3,323 Likes on 2,984 Posts
Anything connected to a GFI breaker is protected and does not need further GFI protection.
The 6' rule means any receptacle within 6' of a sink needs to be GFI protected.

The new code changes that. Any receptacle on a kitchen counter needs to be GFI protected regardless of the distance.
 
  #3  
Old 12-17-17, 02:48 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,618
Received 157 Likes on 143 Posts
Steve, don't feel bad it leaves lots of pro's scratching our heads.
Geo
 
  #4  
Old 12-17-17, 03:51 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Okay, thank you. So the outlets for the garage door openers can just be normal 20A outlets, the circuit is breaker-ed by a GFI breaker.
 
  #5  
Old 12-17-17, 03:55 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,620
Received 3,323 Likes on 2,984 Posts
Yes.... they can be standard receptacles as the circuit is GFI protected.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: