Light trips circuit breaker when connected to box

Old 12-20-17, 11:54 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

I'm a newbie on this site, replacing conventional lights with Model CLL56-2WW LED fixtures and all went well on first 3 installs.

The 4th is wired just like the rest- white to white, black to black, ground to ground and works fine when the light is unmounted (hanging from wires).

However, when I connected it to the box, the Cbreaker tripped- I imagined I had somehow damaged or inverted a wire, however when I dropped the fixture all looked well and the light worked after the circuit breaker reset.

So I imagined that maybe a surge had taken place and tried the whole thing over again- This time there was a spark at the screw that connects the light base to the box before the breaker flipped. Light still works fine when unattached to box.

So I stopped and can't imagine what is going on-

I was thinking that since this is an old house, maybe black and white are reversed- However, if this was true, why didn't the previous fixture short and why did the other new installs work?

I do have a nice LCR multi-meter and I would really appreciate any thoughts to diagnose and fix!

Adding photos:

Also note that image 2 is much simpler than it looks- The black wire is wrapped around white wire near white wire nut (from being pushed up into box) and then runs behind the ground nut. He should have pulled down more and they would have pulled away from each other for a clearer photo- all 3 wires are totally independent and appear to be in good condition.

And note singe mark in photo 3 where bolt sparked.

Thanks in advance!
Mickey

Sponsored Links
Old 12-20-17, 12:09 PM
Group Moderator
Received 318 Votes on 292 Posts
Turn off the breaker to that circuit. Carefully examine the wires along their full length that you can see. I suspect you cut or nicked the insulation and it's shorting out when you try to pack it back into the enclosure.

Old 12-20-17, 12:54 PM