Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Helping! I am trying to find the smallest female spade connector!

Helping! I am trying to find the smallest female spade connector!

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-20-17, 07:25 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 70
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Helping! I am trying to find the smallest female spade connector!

Here's some photos of the female spade connector. I can't seem to find this small of a connector anywhere. Maybe someone here works on small delicate electronics?
 
Attached Images     

Last edited by PJmax; 12-20-17 at 07:44 PM. Reason: added last picture
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-20-17, 07:47 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,642
Received 1,049 Votes on 973 Posts
Standard are .250
Looks like .187 or .110 push on crimps.

22-18-Gauge-Female-Disconnect_.187_-100pcs/dp/B001HTB13S
22-18-Gauge-Female-Disconnect_.110_-100pcs/dp/B001HTN3HA

There are places like Mouser, DigiKey, Allied, MCM electronics that will carry the non insulated type.
 
  #3  
Old 12-20-17, 07:58 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 35 Votes on 27 Posts
PJ, are you not aware that MCM Electronics is no more? They have been absorbed by Newark, happened a couple of months or so ago.


DIYsaveme, those are called Faston connectors. They are measured in decimal inches by the width of the male tongue. As PJ cited, the most common sizes are 0.25, 0.187 and 0.110.

I don't think I have ever seen any but the 0.25 in a mega-mart homecenter or corner hardware store. Probably won't find the smaller sizes in anything less than a pack of 100 either.
 
  #4  
Old 12-20-17, 07:59 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,642
Received 1,049 Votes on 973 Posts
Oh no..... thanks for the info. I haven't ordered from them in a while.
They were a good company to buy from.

Actually still good.... Newark is another good company.
 
  #5  
Old 12-20-17, 08:19 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 70
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pj- are you fimilar at all with the Russound Cav6.6 systems? I have a problem I can't seem to fix. I even have the manual and everything. The fix it states, doesn't help at all.
 
  #6  
Old 12-20-17, 08:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,642
Received 1,049 Votes on 973 Posts
(Ahhhh,,,, the geo guy)

I know it's a 6 channel small distribution/switcher amp.

What's the problem ?
 
  #7  
Old 12-20-17, 08:36 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 70
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, that's me all right . I am definitely going to take advantage of this forum. I definitely appreciate all the help. I have a large home and i'm obsessive compulsive. I have more projects than a construction company.

I have the cav6.6 system and I'm using the Rnet. I have the smart tuner connected to the "IN" portion so i can use the controllers to change the station. Which is totally normal. I have 12 controllers in my house, So i have to connect the 2 systems with another cat5e cable. When I do this, when i turn on one controller on the main unit, the 2nd unit will also turn the same controller number on as well. So if i turn my bedroom controller on, the same number controller on the 2nd unit will also turn on.

I found this manual

https://www.manualslib.com/manual/14...page=39#manual

it states to change the controller number so theyre not the same (controller numbers give me a selection of 1-8) So even if i change the controller ID number. If i turn my master controller on, the guest bedroom will come on as well. Even after I changed the controller ID.
 
  #8  
Old 12-20-17, 08:39 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,642
Received 1,049 Votes on 973 Posts
You need to change the controller number and then power everything down. On a re-boot or restart it should take the new controller number.
 
  #9  
Old 12-20-17, 08:42 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 70
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The thing I dont understand thought, if I only have a selection of 1-8, and I have 12 controllers, what will it be possible to have 2 controllers not share the same number?
 
  #10  
Old 12-20-17, 08:58 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,642
Received 1,049 Votes on 973 Posts
It sounds like you can only use 8 remotes.
I grabbed the manual so I can take a look at it.
 
  #11  
Old 12-20-17, 10:40 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,642
Received 1,049 Votes on 973 Posts
The RNET Link In and Link Out is used to connect two or more (up to 6) CAV6.6 controllers.
Each CAV6.6 is a controller..... you have two controllers and 12 remotes/keypads.

CONTROLLER ID - This defines the Controller ID for this system. The default is 1 but (CtlId) when multiple controllers are used, each additional controller ID must be sequential and unique and be set before being connected to the system. Note that the system must be restarted before the controller will assume the new ID.
So your primary controller is 1 and the other one is 2.
 
  #12  
Old 12-21-17, 11:10 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 70
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
PJ, you are correct. I had left the system off for a while. I turned it all back on and hooked it all up. The controllers are nowindependent of each other. Weird!

I got it all, thank you for the help!
 
  #13  
Old 12-21-17, 04:40 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,642
Received 1,049 Votes on 973 Posts
You are very welcome...........
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: