Damage to romex insulation

Old 12-26-17, 04:18 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Damage to romex insulation

I know very little about electricity, but I am a firefighter and I know the dangers surrounding it. I recently heard about the dangers of tight staples on romex so I did a pass through my attic, and I came across some problem staples on a cluster of romex. I backed the staples off and found some slack for the wires, but I also located a small nick as well. (Photo links below) To the best of my knowledge, the damage appears to affect outer insulation and brown paper. I took a small plastic flexible spoon, and upon further inspection, I was unable to tear away or look beyond the brown paper. Is there a safe solution such as electrical tape that would be effective, or should I just spring for an electrician to replace the damaged section along with any other nearby romex with potential staple damage? Any advice is greatly appreciated.

http://i1027.photobucket.com/albums/...splhf5gna.jpeg

http://i1027.photobucket.com/albums/...syhsxmhif.jpeg

Sponsored Links
Old 12-26-17, 05:21 PM
Received 18 Votes on 17 Posts
You can just wrap it with electric tape as long as insulation of inner wires are in good condition.

Old 12-30-17, 06:18 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts