Outlet cramped for space

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-27-17, 05:29 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 24
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Outlet cramped for space

Hi, I installed a new Outlet with USB plugs included a few weeks ago, and it works fine. Problem is the new outlet is larger and fills up most of the receptacle. There is little extra space for wires and the whole outlet bulges out crooked from the wall. Any suggestions?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-27-17, 05:43 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 995
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
First, what is your level of experience in installing receptacles in cramped boxes? There are many techniques that you mostly learn-as-you-need for maximizing the space. You can cut the wires down a bit (but they still must be long enough to use) and use Wago-type push-in connectors instead of wirenuts. Those save a LOT of space by eliminating the twisting of the wire so you can use shorter wires more easily. Fold the wires with care so they fit better in the back of the box.

If it's a grounded steel box, you can eliminate the ground wire to the receptacle itself.

If you are landing both an incoming and an outgoing feed to the receptacle for pass-through, you can often have an easier time if you make up the wires in the back of the box carefully, and have just a tail that comes to the receptacle. it's an extra wire, but it folds more easily.

If all that fails, there is a Wiremold extension box that will bring the whole thing a bit out of the wall.

This would have been a lot quicker to type on my end if the question had already been very specific with what you were dealing with.

Clarification on terms:
What you installed is a receptacle. It's a type of outlet. It's installed in a junction box.
 
  #3  
Old 12-27-17, 05:55 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,613
Received 1,046 Votes on 970 Posts
Some electrical boxes are just too shallow to accept receptacles like that. If you can't manage the wires in the box carefully then you may need to have the box replaced with a larger one.

Allowing the device to push directly on the wiring is a sure way to develop a short.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: