120 v gas oven on 40A breaker

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-28-17, 07:51 PM
Gen
Gen is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: US
Posts: 411
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
120 v gas oven on 40A breaker

At one of my properties, I found out & verified per the owners manual that the gas oven operates on a 120V plug. (Even though I can't see the plug behind the cabinet insertion.) Thing is it's also on a 40A breaker which is concerning me.

I checked the panel, removed the tie on the breaker and determined only the top breaker toggle is supplying the oven. So I'm thinking I need to get a 15A breaker in that slot after I remove the 40A.

The kicker is that the 40A to the oven has Aluminum #6 or #8 wire on it--too thick for a 15A breaker. So my questions:

Can I splice the aluminum down to a #14 wire for the 15A breaker? What is the best, safest way to do that,?, --knowing there are rules about aluminum connected to copper? If not what are my options? Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-28-17, 08:08 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,227
Received 17 Votes on 16 Posts
Can I splice the aluminum down to a #14 wire for the 15A breaker? What is the best, safest way to do that,?
You can use Cu/Al split bolt, tape with rubber splicing tape and tape again with regular electric tape.
https://www.homedepot.com/p/Blackbur...B1-5/100151812

Or
Cu/Al splice connector, tape with rubber splicing tape and tape again with regular electric tape, or just heat shrink.

https://www.homedepot.com/p/Blackbur...2-10/100126602


Or

You can use a polaris connector (most expensive and harder to find)
https://www.homedepot.com/p/Polaris-...G-6B/303578688


You should also check how it is connected behind the oven.
Al wire that large will not fit on 120V outlet either and the proper way would be to use above methods to convert wires to smaller gauge wires (14 AWG in this case), then connected to the outlet.

It cannot be hardwired. If it is needs to be fixed.
 
  #3  
Old 12-28-17, 08:15 PM
Gen
Gen is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: US
Posts: 411
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Great Thanks...And I,had not considered the wiring done at the oven end...
 
  #4  
Old 12-28-17, 08:52 PM
Gen
Gen is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: US
Posts: 411
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
And do I need to use a certain liquid to coat the connections?
 
  #5  
Old 12-28-17, 09:02 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,227
Received 17 Votes on 16 Posts
And do I need to use a certain liquid to coat the connections?
Not necessary with correct connectors, but not a bad idea to apply some to prevent corrosion. You can buy a small tube of Noalox and coat exposed aluminum wire with it.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: