Ground rod question

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-01-18, 11:03 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 65
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ground rod question

Here is my situation. I have a shed in my backyard with two outlets fed with 10/2 from the house circuit breaker. As a result, the shed does not have its own ground rod or subpanel.

I am installing an antenna on a pole next to the shed for a radio and I need to ground it. I understand the concepts of grounding the antenna mast and coax to a ground rod driven at the base of the pole. That's no issue.

The problem I'm having is that I will need to bond the ground rod for the antenna to the house ground rod for the main circuit breaker. I understand that concept as well as why it's necessary.

However, I have an issue. The ground rod at the shed is about 100 feet away from the house's ground rod. That means I'd have to dig a trench all the way back to the house ground rod, passing under a sidewalk and busting through rocky soil to get there. It's not a straight line either, I'd have to go around the corner of the house.

Surely there must be some alternative? Is it possible to rewire things at the shed so that it has it's own ground rod for its power supply which is separate from the house ground rod and would not need to be attached? The shed has no subpanel currently because it is just fed with a circuit from the house. The 10/2 wire currently powering it is working fine and I'd like to keep from having to dig all of that up and use something else when all I need out there is basic 120v power.

A few people have suggested an "isolation transformer" but I don't know how that would be wired in.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-01-18, 11:09 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,321
Received 736 Votes on 691 Posts
If you are installing an antenna on a METAL pole run from the ground up the side of the shed..... you need to do nothing. The fact that there is power in the shed does not come into the antenna grounding and you do not connect to it.

You could connect that metal pole to its own ground rod with #8 wiring.
 
  #3  
Old 01-01-18, 11:31 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 65
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The metal pole is freestanding and concreted about 2ft into the ground. I was under the impression that not connecting the antenna ground rod to the house ground rod was out of code and would be dangerous.

Is that not the case?
 
  #4  
Old 01-02-18, 10:59 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 65
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Any ideas? I've been reading up on this so I was under the impression I'd have to bond any antenna ground rod to the house ground rod.
 
  #5  
Old 01-02-18, 11:03 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,321
Received 736 Votes on 691 Posts
You'd bond an antenna to the house ground if the antenna was on the house.
Your antenna is not on or near the house.
 
  #6  
Old 01-03-18, 05:26 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,917
Received 51 Votes on 49 Posts
"That means I'd have to dig a trench all the way back... "

Stop right there. No, you don't. Omit that step. No grounding electrode conductor is needed under the lawn between buildings to interconnect ground rods with..

If you had a ground rod against the shed for the antenna on the shed and another ground rod against the shed near a subpanel in that shed then those two ground rods would need to be interconnected with #6 copper run on the exterior as much as possible.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: