How can I run romex up wall in to ceiling space?

Old 01-07-18, 04:44 PM
H
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question How can I run romex up wall in to ceiling space?

I'm looking to install a two gang box and run up romex in to my ceiling in this first story room which does not currently have any ceiling lighting. This switch only controls the upper outlets in this room.

How would I open the wall / drill stuff, with the least repair work required, to run romex in to the ceiling space for the canned lights I'm installing?

Thanks in advance.

Thanks,
Hans

Sponsored Links
Old 01-07-18, 04:56 PM
Group Moderator
Received 426 Votes on 389 Posts
Make one hole in the drywall right of the switch, use a long flexible spade bit to drill through the top plate. Drill a hole at the closest ceiling fixture to the that hole... connect the dots. If you are lucky the joists will be parallel.

Old 01-07-18, 04:56 PM
D
I am a complete newbie myself, but if it were me, I would get one of those magnets and rollers. You attach the magnet to the cable, and use the roller to roll against the wall/ceiling and pull it up. You also need a stud finder to find studs and also hope you dont have a fire breaker in between. Not sure what you can do if you have one.

Old 01-07-18, 04:59 PM
Group Moderator
Received 724 Votes on 679 Posts
You need to confirm what wiring you have in the box. If you have a white wire and a black wire on the switch.... there is no neutral and you cannot add on to it.

Old 01-07-18, 05:07 PM
L
Received 43 Votes on 39 Posts
First, you have ti figure out how your joists run. You are in luck if joists run parallel to how you want to run the wire and very lucky if it is also in the same space as where the switch is.

Since you are installing canned lights, you will have to cut quiet a lot of ceiling drywall anyway.
Here are the steps I take.