replacement power cord

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-08-18, 12:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question replacement power cord

I recently bought an old digital piano. The cord with it works, but is not original. The only specs I can locate in online manual just say that the power consumption is 50W (120V). The cord is stamped 7W-125V. Can it be safely used? Many thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-08-18, 12:37 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,166
Upvotes: 0
Received 14 Votes on 13 Posts
Are you sure it is not 7A 125V?

7W is almost nothing and that would be a really thin wire. Even a lamp wire can handle more than that. Also, it is very rare to see a cord rated in wattage instead of amperage.

If it is 7A, you will be fine. That is about 840W.
 

Last edited by lambition; 01-08-18 at 02:24 PM.
  #3  
Old 01-08-18, 12:39 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,879
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Are you sure it isn't labeled 7A-125V? 7W would not be enough to power much of anything.

Lambition got to it first
 
  #4  
Old 01-08-18, 02:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you. YOu're right. I misread it.
 
  #5  
Old 01-08-18, 03:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Smile

Thank you. You're absolutely right; I misread it. I do appreciate the help.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: