Help wiring a motor one phase

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-10-18, 11:05 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Help wiring a motor one phase

Hello, I have a one phase, cap start, cap run motor and the cord was cut. I have the wiring diagram, there are 5 leads coming out of the motor, I'm very new to wiring and motors, does anyone know how I would wire this to use in my garage for woodworking tools?

Name:  d1A.jpg
Views: 222
Size:  38.5 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 01-10-18 at 11:45 AM. Reason: converted, colored, resized diagram
  #2  
Old 01-10-18, 11:33 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,919
Received 1,344 Votes on 1,242 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Does it make more sense with the colors highlighted ?

If you want the motor to rotate counter clockwise.....
connect white and red motor wires to black of power cord.
connect orange and black motor wires to white of power cord.

If the want the motor to rotate clockwise.....
connect white and black motor leads to black of power cord.
connect orange and red motor wires to white of power cord.
 
  #3  
Old 01-10-18, 11:45 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wow that seems really simple, Thank you so much!
 
  #4  
Old 01-11-18, 12:53 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
could i use a potentiometer to slow down this motor?
 
  #5  
Old 01-11-18, 09:42 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,919
Received 1,344 Votes on 1,242 Posts
No sir.

The only way to electrically control the speed is with a VFD. (variable frequency drive) wikipedia.org_Variable_frequency_drive

They run around $150 or so. Depends on the amperage of the motor. There are some bargains on eBay.
 
  #6  
Old 01-12-18, 08:57 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,044
Received 4 Votes on 3 Posts
Could OP also wire a heavy duty pushbutton switch in series with the black and red wires so he doesn't have to plug/unplug the motor to turn it on/off?
 
Attached Images  
  #7  
Old 01-12-18, 10:44 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,919
Received 1,344 Votes on 1,242 Posts
A switch would be installed so as to break the black hot wire from the line cord.
 
  #8  
Old 01-12-18, 12:12 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,044
Received 4 Votes on 3 Posts
I see. I thought some break hot and neutral simultaneously.
 
  #9  
Old 01-12-18, 12:17 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,919
Received 1,344 Votes on 1,242 Posts
Some do but on a 120v motor it's not required to break the neutral.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: