Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Help wiring a motor one phase


krazykyle83's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 3

01-10-18, 11:05 AM   #1 (permalink)  
Help wiring a motor one phase

Hello, I have a one phase, cap start, cap run motor and the cord was cut. I have the wiring diagram, there are 5 leads coming out of the motor, I'm very new to wiring and motors, does anyone know how I would wire this to use in my garage for woodworking tools?

Name:  d1A.jpg
Views: 75
Size:  38.5 KB


Last edited by PJmax; 01-10-18 at 11:45 AM. Reason: converted, colored, resized diagram
 
Sponsored Links
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 40,659
NJ

01-10-18, 11:33 AM   #2 (permalink)  
Welcome to the forums.

Does it make more sense with the colors highlighted ?

If you want the motor to rotate counter clockwise.....
connect white and red motor wires to black of power cord.
connect orange and black motor wires to white of power cord.

If the want the motor to rotate clockwise.....
connect white and black motor leads to black of power cord.
connect orange and red motor wires to white of power cord.


~ Pete ~

 
krazykyle83's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 3

01-10-18, 11:45 AM   #3 (permalink)  
Wow that seems really simple, Thank you so much!

 
krazykyle83's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 3

01-11-18, 12:53 AM   #4 (permalink)  
could i use a potentiometer to slow down this motor?

 
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 40,659
NJ

01-11-18, 09:42 PM   #5 (permalink)  
No sir.

The only way to electrically control the speed is with a VFD. (variable frequency drive) wikipedia.org_Variable_frequency_drive

They run around $150 or so. Depends on the amperage of the motor. There are some bargains on eBay.


~ Pete ~

 
mossman's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,104
VA

01-12-18, 08:57 AM   #6 (permalink)  
Could OP also wire a heavy duty pushbutton switch in series with the black and red wires so he doesn't have to plug/unplug the motor to turn it on/off?

Attached Images
     
 
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 40,659
NJ

01-12-18, 10:44 AM   #7 (permalink)  
A switch would be installed so as to break the black hot wire from the line cord.


~ Pete ~

 
mossman's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,104
VA

01-12-18, 12:12 PM   #8 (permalink)  
I see. I thought some break hot and neutral simultaneously.

 
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 40,659
NJ

01-12-18, 12:17 PM   #9 (permalink)  
Some do but on a 120v motor it's not required to break the neutral.


~ Pete ~

 
Search this Thread