Outlets on different floors, same circuit

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-18-18, 07:04 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,972
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Outlets on different floors, same circuit

I pulled a run of 14/2 for a GFCI protected outlet on the rear of my house through the basement ceiling and to a single outlet just below the main panel, which is where I will be installing the GFCI receptacle. This outlet was installed before I bought the home and is the only outlet on this circuit so I figured it made sense to tie into it rather than taking up another space in the panel. I didn't realize until this evening how many other outlets and lights are on the circuit I just wired my new garage and mudroom off of, and I'd like to go ahead and separate the new work. Rather than pulling a home run to the panel and taking up another slot, I'd prefer to simply tie into this single outlet below the panel. Now to my question...is it okay to have a single outlet in the basement on the same circuit as the lights and outlets on the 1st floor and opposite side of the house? Even if it isn't against code, would it be better to just pull the cable into the panel and install another breaker? Only the rear outdoor outlet would be on the load side obviously.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-19-18, 10:45 AM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,276
Received 107 Votes on 99 Posts
Unless you're out of breaker spaces, I don't see any reason to not buy a $6 breaker and put it on it's own circuit.

As far as I know, there's no requirement for the under-panel receptacle to be on its own circuit, but why bother?
 
  #3  
Old 01-19-18, 10:53 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,972
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Unless you're out of breaker spaces, I don't see any reason to not buy a $6 breaker and put it on it's own circuit.
I'm pushing it, and a few of them are tandem breakers so I'm not even sure it's currently up to code.

As far as I know, there's no requirement for the under-panel receptacle to be on its own circuit, but why bother?
I realize it isn't a requirement. My question was would it be ridiculous to take up a space in the panel for only two outlets. And if I tied into this 2-outlet circuit, would it be ridiculous to have an outlet in the basement on the same circuit as an outlet by the back door on the same circuit as my garage and mudroom outlets and lights on the floor above on the opposite side of the home.
 
  #4  
Old 01-20-18, 10:09 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,751
Received 67 Votes on 63 Posts
It would make sense to connect up to the existing outlet if you want ,no real need for a new breaker however all outlets an unfinished basement must be GFCI protected not necessarily the other outlets in the mud room etc.
Geo
 

Last edited by pcboss; 01-23-18 at 06:36 PM. Reason: unfinished
  #5  
Old 01-22-18, 06:01 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,972
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
all outlets in the basement must be GFCI protected
That's news to me. When did this change?
 
  #6  
Old 01-23-18, 06:12 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,640
Received 85 Votes on 75 Posts
That's news to me. When did this change?

I think that requirement for unfinished basements has been in effect at least 20 years.
 
  #7  
Old 01-24-18, 06:24 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,972
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
I think that requirement for unfinished basements has been in effect at least 20 years.
I failed to notice you said "unfinished". My basement is finished. Whew.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: