Single phase vs Three phase generator

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-24-18, 02:53 AM
3
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Single phase vs Three phase generator

Hello,

I'm about to rent an industrial place and the real estate person tells me that a 100a three phase generator generators as many watts as 3 100a single phase generator. Is that correct?

I want to put computers there and need a lot of watts to power them if that helps.

Thanks a lot for your answers.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-24-18, 04:24 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 10,135
Received 35 Votes on 33 Posts
Welcome to our forums!

Could you perhaps mean transformers and not generators?
A generator produces electricity and requires fuel to run, a transformer changes power company high voltages into lower more useable levels.
 
  #3  
Old 01-24-18, 08:14 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,753
Received 67 Votes on 63 Posts
Best have all your facts correct as to computer load,cooling requirements etc. donít rely on a real estate agent for power issues, depending on the location of the building 3 phase could be a possibility and would be the best option as long as the are transformers on site to supply you the 120/208 volts .
Geo
 
  #4  
Old 01-24-18, 09:17 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,593
Received 1,045 Votes on 969 Posts
If ends up being a 3 phase service........ the voltages are 120/208v.
If you're running servers make sure 208v as opposed to 240v service is ok.
Current demand will be higher running on 208v compared to 240v.
 
  #5  
Old 01-24-18, 10:41 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,119
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Note...OP is in Hong Kong.........
 
  #6  
Old 01-25-18, 06:35 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,072
Received 75 Votes on 69 Posts
Not enough information to answer the question.

The OP did not give the voltage of the generator, only the amperage.
The OP did not specify whether the amperes given was peak or continuous.

Voltage of a feed or source, unless otherwise specified, refers to the highest voltage between any two current carrying conductors including a neutral. For example a "standard" 120/208 volt 3 phase feed would be referred to as 208 volts if only one voltage were stated.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: