Need to upgrade 220 volt outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-24-18, 09:27 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need to upgrade 220 volt outlet

I need to get 220 volt service into my garage for a table saw. There is an existing 3 prong 220 v outlet in my garage connected to my breaker box by a 6/2 with ground cable. I need to have a 4 prong outlet for my new saw.

My house is about 30 years old. The run from the breaker box goes up about 15 feet from the basement to attic, then across about 75 feet to the garage.

I know the obvious solution would be to replace the 6/2 cable with 6/3. I'm looking for an easier alternative.

I'd like to keep the 6/2 cable connected to breaker box and connect it to the 2 hot prongs and the ground in a 4 prong 220 volt outlet. For the common prong, I'd like to run a number 6 wire in conduit to an 8 volt copper ground rod right outside the garage. < br>
What do you think?



Sent from my LG G Pad X 10.1, an AT&T 4G LTE tablet
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-24-18, 10:18 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,655
Received 1,051 Votes on 975 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Our service voltage is 120/240v in this country.

Most 240v tools only require a three prong plug. Two hot legs and ground.
If your table saw uses a four prong plug then it would be a 120/240v saw.

Did that come with a four prong plug on the cord ?
If you do indeed need 120/240v power..... four prongs.... you will need to run a new three wire cable. That would be two hot legs neutral and ground.
 
  #3  
Old 01-24-18, 10:43 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,119
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Member is in AR......................
 
  #4  
Old 01-25-18, 06:59 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,075
Received 75 Votes on 69 Posts
The common (neutral) prong slot in the 4 slot 120/240 volt receptacle must be connected to a (white) neutral. Leaving this slot unconnected will result in damage within 120/240 volt tools in the same manner as broken or open neutral elsewhere in the house causes voltage problems in the house. Do not connect the common prong to a ground rod.
 
  #5  
Old 01-25-18, 10:23 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,144
Received 85 Votes on 73 Posts
All conductors of the circuit need to be in the same cable or raceway. The neutral does not connect to a ground rod, nor does a grounding conductor.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: