Intermittent Circuit - half not working

Old 01-28-18, 11:37 AM
P
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Intermittent Circuit - half not working

I have a circuit for my Master Bathroom, Master Bedroom, and Guest Bathroom. All of the 3 rooms are on one breaker. Half of the Circuit started working intermittently several months ago. For a week it would turn off and then it would come back for a week. It has been off for a few months now. The GFIs in the bathroom work fine as they are on separate circuit.
The circuit in question has 4 outlets, 1 double light switch in bathroom for bathroom vent and bathroom light and 1 double light switch for ceiling fan with lights. We checked each outlet and the wiring looked good. I even replaced one outlet that had the most things plugged into it. We disconnected the bathroom light fixture completely and disconnected the ceiling fan completely.
I have a GreenLee GT-10 outlet tester. It has three indicator lights on it to indicate if an outlet is wired correctly. When no load on circuit is shows as either "Correct" or "Open Neutral". When any switch is turned on or any small device (i.e. phone charger) is plugged into the outlet, it changes to "Hot and Ground Reversed"
This circuit worked fine for 15 years and only stopped working in the past year. All of the wiring comes from the ceiling/attic. I have not noticed any rodent issues. I had thought it was possibly the steam in the bath affecting the light or the ceiling fan having a short after years of vibration.
Any ideas where to look or what to try next???
Any help would be appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Old 01-28-18, 11:41 AM
Group Moderator
Received 1,049 Votes on 973 Posts
Welcome to the forums.