Tape or Don't

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-05-18, 10:48 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tape or Don't

When connecting wires inside a box with connectors, I usually also wrap with electrical tape. However, existing work in houses done by the elec contractors at construction never includes tape. Is one way preferable over the other?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-05-18, 10:55 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
Wirenuts do not require tape to function correctly.
 
  #3  
Old 02-05-18, 11:03 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 21,047
Received 234 Votes on 214 Posts
What "connectors" are you using?

When using wire nuts I normally do not tape connections. I will use tape if the box is quite full and I want something extra to hold things together when shoving and positioning to get everything to fit. But, if done properly a wire nut will securely connect wires without tape.
 
  #4  
Old 02-05-18, 11:10 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Am using the standard plastic wire connectors. Using to pigtail 3 wires together. Thanks both.
 
  #5  
Old 02-05-18, 12:47 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada, Quebec
Posts: 1,562
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There used to be some sort of saying that the wire nut made the connection but didn't hold it. So by habit lots of people put tape. I don't know whether it's due to old wire nuts but I've never used tape. The instructions never say to either and all the connections hold fine.
 
  #6  
Old 02-05-18, 05:15 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,944
Received 30 Votes on 26 Posts
Tape makes a mess in a junction box. Use quality connectors and skip the tape.
 
  #7  
Old 02-05-18, 07:23 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,966
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
Use quality connectors and skip the tape.
And make quality splices.
 
  #8  
Old 02-06-18, 10:56 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tolyn/pcboss/qwert:

Thank you all. Will prob skip the tape.
 
  #9  
Old 02-06-18, 03:31 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Electrical tape is a staple in just about any electrical bag I see. If it's not needed for wire nuts, when is it needed?
 
  #10  
Old 02-06-18, 04:06 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,229
Received 17 Votes on 16 Posts
If it's not needed for wire nuts, when is it needed?
To fix damage to wire insulation.
Wrapping around outlet or switch if there is possibility of short to the metal junction box.
For pulling cable with fish tape or pull string.
For re-marking white wire is hot in a switch loop, 240V circuit, etc..

These says, it is rarely needed in actual insulating purposes.
 
  #11  
Old 02-06-18, 04:07 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,944
Received 30 Votes on 26 Posts
Often times it is used to identify hot wires, attach to fish tapes or repair the cable sheath.
 
  #12  
Old 02-06-18, 07:25 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,966
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
I use tape for securing wires to a fish tape, rope, or pulling grip, to group wires in and panel, J box or pole lights, or for IDing wires.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: