Adding a sub panel

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-06-18, 10:41 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Adding a sub panel

I am working on a remodel and have to add a 100amp sub panel to the garage, it is a 165ft run from the main panel. I will be adding 2 in ground junction boxes because the run will exceed 360į in bends. I'm thinking of running 3 2/0 aluminium and #6 ground. Let me know what ur thoughts are on this
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-06-18, 12:12 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
The ground needs to increase to #4 aluminum or #6 copper, but other than that the plan sounds OK. Burial depth for the conduit needs to be 18" to the top of the pipe.

Why so many bends?
 
  #3  
Old 02-06-18, 05:29 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,318
Received 45 Votes on 38 Posts
2/0 Al is a bit big for 100A. 1/0 is plenty and even #1 would be enough at 165ft providing you are not loading it to the max of 100A all the time.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: