Putting in a Garage Sub Panel

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-08-18, 07:02 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Putting in a Garage Sub Panel

I want to install a sub panel in my garage. The main panel is on the outside wall and the sub panel would be directly behind it on the inside wall. In the sub panel I want a 30A 220V breaker and a 20V 110V breaker. What size breaker and what gauge wire do I need in the main panel to feed the sub panel? And is there anything specific I need to know as far as what kind of panel to buy?
 
  #2  
Old 02-08-18, 08:09 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,550
Received 138 Votes on 111 Posts
Even though those are the only two circuits you are wanting, I'd do a little future proofing and install at least a 20 space 100A main breaker panel and feed it with a 60A breaker in the main panel. If using conduit use three #6 THHN and one #10 THHN. SER cable can be used if not using conduit, that will be 6-6-6-6. In a subpanel you will need to buy a ground bar kit because the neutrals are isolated from the grounds. This requires the bonding screw/strap to be removed from the existing neutral/ground bar to isolate it from the panel box.
 
  #3  
Old 02-08-18, 07:33 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,932
Received 289 Votes on 252 Posts
IMO - I would recommend NM-b #6/3 over SER
 
  #4  
Old 02-09-18, 07:12 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,550
Received 138 Votes on 111 Posts
Originally Posted by Tolyn Ironhand View Post
IMO - I would recommend NM-b #6/3 over SER
NM-b is fine only if directly entering from one panel to another and not run through outside conduit or exposed to the outside since NM-b is not allowed in damp/wet areas. SER is allowed in wet areas. A piece of copper SER is better than NM-b since it is being run to the outside of the structure. This is assuming the main panel is on the outside of the structure.
 
  #5  
Old 02-10-18, 07:41 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,932
Received 289 Votes on 252 Posts
The main panel is on the outside wall and the sub panel would be directly behind it on the inside wall
haslkdjhflk
Based on the info above it sounded to me that the cable would not be installed in a wet location.
 
  #6  
Old 02-12-18, 04:07 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

Here is the existing panel. The new panel would be on the inside wall directly behind this panel
 
  #7  
Old 02-12-18, 04:28 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,932
Received 289 Votes on 252 Posts
Depending on how wide the wall is it might be easier just to install a nipple between the two panels and use THHN.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: