Garage Sub Panel HELP

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-11-18, 08:13 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Garage Sub Panel HELP

Hello... I'm new to this site so if I'm doing something incorrectly please excuse me. I'm needing a sub panel in my garage mainly for a 220v 50 amp outlet for my welder and air compressor. Really what I need to know is can I run it how I am thinking about doing it. (see attached pix for the following) I currently have a 200 amp service panel, or so I'm thinking that's what it is. There is a 2 pole 100 amp (each side) main breaker. I want to run a 100 amp sub panel. I can use the 2 lowest slots on the main panel (1 slot has a breaker, the other does not as I removed it) for the sub panel breaker. The location is easy enough as its located close in the garage already.

For right now I'm just concerned about the 2 panels and whats in between them. I only really need the 220v 50 amp and I'll add the rest later.

Can I do this..? Will this work? Any suggestions? Advice? Thanx
 
Attached Images    
  #2  
Old 03-11-18, 08:18 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,647
Received 48 Votes on 43 Posts
Not good. You really need to upgrade your service. The label says that this is a 125amp panel and a maximum of 70amp branch breaker.
 
  #3  
Old 03-11-18, 08:23 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
You have a 100 amp main breaker. You don't add the two sides together.
 
  #4  
Old 03-11-18, 08:29 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I kind of assumed this... Ehh... This Panel is attached to the meter... Big job, Yes..?
 
  #5  
Old 03-11-18, 08:33 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Correct me if I'm wrong... Shouldn't the total of all the breakers (amps) add up to no more that the main..?
 
  #6  
Old 03-11-18, 09:45 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Correct me if I'm wrong... Shouldn't the total of all the breakers (amps) add up to no more that the main..?
No. All the breakers will never be running at full rating at the same time. Most will never be at full rating.. Branch circuit breakers usually add up to several times the main breaker rating.
 
  #7  
Old 03-12-18, 08:02 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,512
Received 124 Votes on 98 Posts
Use a 100A main breaker panel for the subpanel and feed it with a max of 70A breaker. I believe you'll find that 70A will serve your needs well.
 
  #8  
Old 03-12-18, 03:30 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Is this a detached garage?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: