Making a 220 Extension Cord

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-12-18, 11:37 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Making a 220 Extension Cord

Hello,

I am currently in need of a 220 extension cord for my Jointer. My Jointer is a Grizzly G1018 -220v- 1.5HP - 9amp Jointer.

I have read the instruction manual it gives recommended wire gauges for certain lengths of extension cords.
I am in need of a 50' extension cord. My manual states that for 11-12 amps I can use 16ga wire and for 13-16 amps i can use 12ga wire.

Does this seem correct? At 220v my jointer requires 9 amps. Does this mean I can use 16ga wire for my extension cord? that just seems like too light of a guage for this.

here is a link to the manual for my jointer.

https://cdn0.grizzly.com/manuals/g0500_m.pdf

Any help on this would be appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-12-18, 11:43 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,659
I would size the wire based on the circuit. If it's a 15 amp circuit, I would use at least 14 ga wire. If it's a 20 amp circuit, I would use at least 12 ga wire.

No chance of skipping the cord entirely by adding a new receptacle closer to the tool?
 
  #3  
Old 03-12-18, 11:48 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Unfortunately no, the only thing I could do other than the Extension Cord; is make the power cord for the Jointer longer.
 
  #4  
Old 03-12-18, 11:59 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,185
Using to small a gauge wire will cause the motor to overheat.
Making the cord longer will save you the cost of another connector.
 
  #5  
Old 03-12-18, 12:21 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 45,142
Don't even mess around. For a 50' extension cord.... use #12 wiring.
 
  #6  
Old 03-12-18, 12:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 7
@Joe - That sounds like the way to go. If I buy a 12/3 SJTW Heavy Duty Extension Cord with standard 110 plugs, can replace the connectors and use it for the longer power cord?
 
  #7  
Old 03-12-18, 01:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 45,142
Joe is recommending adding a 50' power cord to the tool. Not using an extension.

There is no problem cutting off the 120v caps and installing 240v ones in their place.
 
  #8  
Old 03-12-18, 01:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Perfect, thank you guys very much.
 
  #9  
Old 03-12-18, 01:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 7
So for instance,

I could buy this extension cord

https://www.amazon.com/US-Wire-74050...sion+cord+sjtw

and replace the caps with the correct 220 ones for my jointer?

thank you
 
  #10  
Old 03-12-18, 01:56 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 868
I would not use a SJTW code because of the stiffness. I would make one up using SJOOW cord, way more flexible and easier to coil.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes