Is this OK for safety?


  #1  
Old 03-23-18, 04:22 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: US
Posts: 117
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Is this OK for safety?

In the attic I have a splice going to a light I no longer use so I disconnected it. I capped and taped the wires. Is this enough for safety?
Thanks
 
Attached Images  
  #2  
Old 03-23-18, 04:50 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,014
Received 3,181 Likes on 2,856 Posts
No. Splices must be contained within a junction box.

A small handy box with blank and NM-b romex connector is all you need.

Name:  handy.jpg
Views: 194
Size:  12.7 KB
 
  #3  
Old 03-23-18, 06:20 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: US
Posts: 117
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Will this do, it's one of those blue boxes with a cover.
 
Attached Images  
  #4  
Old 03-23-18, 06:59 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,014
Received 3,181 Likes on 2,856 Posts
Th at will do to. It needs to be fastened to a joist and the cable needs to be stapled within 6" of the box.
 
  #5  
Old 03-23-18, 08:58 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: US
Posts: 117
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Great, thanks a lot for the help!
 
  #6  
Old 03-23-18, 09:19 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Note wire nuts do not need to be taped. There is no reason to cap the ground wire with a wire nut since the whole wire is bare.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 03-24-18 at 06:24 AM.
  #7  
Old 03-24-18, 06:22 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 15,030
Received 629 Likes on 538 Posts
I like to cap a bare ground wire (or any ground for that matter) just to make sure the end of the wire does not get pushed into another wire nut by accident.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: