240volt 14amp generator to house

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-23-18, 10:16 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
240volt 14amp generator to house

i have a generac 3,250 watt generator. it has 2 120v sockets each rated at 14 amps and 1 120/240v socket also rated at 14amps. i wanted to backfeed my house panel using the 240v socket but realizing it is only 14 amps i thought it wouldn't be practical.



can i instead run 2 extension cords from the 2 120volt sockets to each side of the house panel? get me a total of 28 amps to use?



i've been running extension cords directly to devices all over the house, but that is a pain to set up and disconnect. thanks
 
Attached Images  
  #2  
Old 03-23-18, 11:01 PM
L
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,550
Received 92 Votes on 80 Posts
can i instead run 2 extension cords from the 2 120volt sockets to each side of the house panel? get me a total of 28 amps to use?
No you cannot simply run a extension cords. Also 2 120V doesn't actually give you 28A, but 14A of 2 legs instead..
Your generator is 3250W total and you will get 14A 240V. Since it runs as a split phase, you can get 14A off each leg because opposing legs will cancel out each other.

What you will need is a transfer switch and generator cord.

https://www.homedepot.com/p/Reliance...6HDK/202213700

A kit like this will work perfectly. It comes with a 30A inlet and 30A generator cord. It also comes with 20A plug so you can cut off 30A plug and replace with 20A if your generator only has a 20A receptacle.
You will have to supply 10-3 wire between transfer switch and the inlet.

You can put circuits you want on a generator on this transfer panel and individually switch to generator side as needed.
Download and read installation manual. It is fairly easy and straight forward.
 
  #3  
Old 03-23-18, 11:22 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
A 120/240 volt 14 amp receptacle can provide two 120v circuits at 14 amps each.
 
  #4  
Old 03-24-18, 06:16 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,512
Received 124 Votes on 98 Posts
Do not backfeed using a suicide cord. Use a transfer switch or breaker interlock kit.
 
  #5  
Old 03-25-18, 12:22 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
so if i use a breaker interlock kit i would be connecting the 240volt receptacle from the generator to a double pole breaker on the house panel correct? that will power both phases and give me a total of 28 amps to use?
 
  #6  
Old 03-25-18, 01:01 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
so if i use a breaker interlock kit i would be connecting the 240volt receptacle from the generator to a double pole breaker on the house panel correct? that will power both phases and give me a total of 28 amps to use?
Yes if only 120 volt circuits are used.
 
  #7  
Old 03-25-18, 04:29 PM
L
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,550
Received 92 Votes on 80 Posts
If using interlock kit, I suggest getting a larger generator. Since a interlock method will feed whole panel, it is very likely for you to overload the generator by mistake.
 
  #8  
Old 03-26-18, 05:41 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
great. thanks for the help
 
  #9  
Old 03-26-18, 06:23 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If using interlock kit, I suggest getting a larger generator. Since a interlock method will feed whole panel, it is very likely for you to overload the generator by mistake.
yes a larger one is in my future.
 
  #10  
Old 03-26-18, 07:20 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 437
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Interlock kit is the best thing I have done in my house as far as all my DIY projects go. I have a 10,000 watt portable backfeeding a 50A two pole and it runs my entire house except A/C. Ihave already used it a dozen times and I cant tell you how convenient it is to even be able to play computer games or listen music not to mention the warm house when the entire town is out of power in a blizzard.

And yes I invite all my neighbors without power in to join us

I always tell people to not to go cheap on a generator. I paid $900 for mine and I always hear people paying $400-500 for generators that can barely run 2-3 big appliances. Its not worth saving a bit when you consider the big picture. Also the 10,000 watt generators usually have adapters for LPG meaning you can run them for more than 24 hours or upto 40 hours without needing to make a trip to the gas station if you fill up the tank and also attach a LPG tank.

Last time mine ran for 10 hours straight with less than half a tank.
 
  #11  
Old 03-26-18, 09:54 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
good advice Derstig. thanks
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: