Electric for garage

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-24-18, 10:33 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Strasburg
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Electric for garage

Can I hookup electric to my garage from the house using use-2 electrical wire?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-24-18, 11:44 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 55,153
Received 589 Votes on 554 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Your question is a little vague.

Is the garage attached to the house ?
Are you just trying to bring one circuit out to the garage from the electric panel ?
Is this for a special purpose or general use ?

For one basic circuit you would be using 14-2 w/gr NM-b or 12-2 w/gr NM-b cable.
Basically #14 or #12 romex depending on the amount of power needed.
 
  #3  
Old 03-24-18, 03:32 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,270
Received 36 Votes on 30 Posts
As Pjmax said you need to provide more detail. USE-2 is one rating and not a wire type. Some wire rated just USE-2 may not be allowed in side of a structure where other types of wire with USE-2 rating may have other ratings that allow it to be run with in a structure.
 
  #4  
Old 03-24-18, 06:13 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Strasburg
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's a detached garage, has it's own fuse box and I'll be running the cable from one box to the other. What is the best cable to use? General use, nothing special, no welders or anything like that.
 
  #5  
Old 03-25-18, 06:47 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,270
Received 36 Votes on 30 Posts
Are you going to use the existing fuse box in the detached garage? What amp rating is the existing fuse box? Are you running conduit from panel to panel or are you planning to run any direct bury, or through the air, or part cable in house and part conduit underground, etc. There is no simple answer without knowing how the wire will need to be ran.

Edit: Well actually there is a simple answer and that would be to use UF-b from panel to panel. It's direct bury and can be ran inside the house the same as NM-b (Romex). Just need to know the amp requirements and amp size of existing subpanel. #6 UF-b is the largest size you can get and is good for 55A which is probably all you need if the panel can handle 55A.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: