Mini Split AC Disconnect


  #1  
Old 03-26-18, 10:19 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: usa
Posts: 88
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Mini Split AC Disconnect

Ok I am going to install a mini split AC unit at my daughter's house. The instructions state
Electrical
230 V. 1 Phase 60 Hz
Max Breaker Size
20 amps

I have read that some people have used double pole 15 amps with 14/2 wire with a ground and have seen
the same unit installed with 30 amp 10/2 with a ground. I already purchased a 30 amp disconnect to use
outside.

I was thinking about using 20 amp breaker with 12/2 , and the 30 amp disconnect the run is about 25 feet from the panel.

I will leave it to the experts, what would be the set up out of these three?
 

Last edited by BrentTurner; 03-26-18 at 10:39 AM.
  #2  
Old 03-26-18, 10:26 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,942
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
12/2 with 20A breaker. The disconnect just needs to be rated 20A or higher - 30A or 60A are common and cheap. You could use 14/2 with a 15A if the unit has a 15A "minimum ckt ampacity rating", otherwise, just use the 20A. A 30A breaker is flat out wrong.
 
  #3  
Old 03-26-18, 03:26 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: usa
Posts: 88
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The minimum ampacity rating is 15 amp, is there any advantage in going with the 20 amp breaker?
 
  #4  
Old 03-26-18, 03:48 PM
L
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,604
Received 104 Votes on 90 Posts
Going with 14-2 is cheaper and the wire is easier to work with. Other than that 20A is better for future possibility of installing a larger unit.
It is really up to you.
 
  #5  
Old 03-26-18, 04:21 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: usa
Posts: 88
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks I think I will just go with the 15 amp breaker and 14/2 it will never get upgraded

Thanks again
 
  #6  
Old 03-26-18, 07:04 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,252
Received 113 Votes on 98 Posts
You may need the 20 amp breaker to allow the unit to start .
 
  #7  
Old 03-26-18, 07:22 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: us
Posts: 1,125
Received 54 Votes on 52 Posts
On very hot days higher motor starting load can be an issue. Go with 20 amps, 12-2. The couple of dollars more for 20 amp rather than 15 amp can make a difference. Who needs air conditioner problems on during very hot weather?

Also make sure receptacle has 20 amp rating.








/
 

Last edited by doughess; 03-26-18 at 07:44 PM.
  #8  
Old 03-28-18, 09:16 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,815
Received 106 Votes on 94 Posts
Thanks I think I will just go with the 15 amp breaker and 14/2 it will never get upgraded

The code requires you to follow the installation instructions. They said:



The instructions state
Electrical
230 V. 1 Phase 60 Hz
Max Breaker Size
20 amps
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: