Mini Split AC Disconnect

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-26-18, 11:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: usa
Posts: 88
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Mini Split AC Disconnect

Ok I am going to install a mini split AC unit at my daughter's house. The instructions state
Electrical
230 V. 1 Phase 60 Hz
Max Breaker Size
20 amps

I have read that some people have used double pole 15 amps with 14/2 wire with a ground and have seen
the same unit installed with 30 amp 10/2 with a ground. I already purchased a 30 amp disconnect to use
outside.

I was thinking about using 20 amp breaker with 12/2 , and the 30 amp disconnect the run is about 25 feet from the panel.

I will leave it to the experts, what would be the set up out of these three?
 

Last edited by BrentTurner; 03-26-18 at 11:39 AM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-26-18, 11:26 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
12/2 with 20A breaker. The disconnect just needs to be rated 20A or higher - 30A or 60A are common and cheap. You could use 14/2 with a 15A if the unit has a 15A "minimum ckt ampacity rating", otherwise, just use the 20A. A 30A breaker is flat out wrong.
 
  #3  
Old 03-26-18, 04:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: usa
Posts: 88
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The minimum ampacity rating is 15 amp, is there any advantage in going with the 20 amp breaker?
 
  #4  
Old 03-26-18, 04:48 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,306
Received 36 Votes on 34 Posts
Going with 14-2 is cheaper and the wire is easier to work with. Other than that 20A is better for future possibility of installing a larger unit.
It is really up to you.
 
  #5  
Old 03-26-18, 05:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: usa
Posts: 88
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks I think I will just go with the 15 amp breaker and 14/2 it will never get upgraded

Thanks again
 
  #6  
Old 03-26-18, 08:04 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,996
Received 39 Votes on 34 Posts
You may need the 20 amp breaker to allow the unit to start .
 
  #7  
Old 03-26-18, 08:22 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: us
Posts: 683
Received 10 Votes on 10 Posts
On very hot days higher motor starting load can be an issue. Go with 20 amps, 12-2. The couple of dollars more for 20 amp rather than 15 amp can make a difference. Who needs air conditioner problems on during very hot weather?

Also make sure receptacle has 20 amp rating.








/
 

Last edited by doughess; 03-26-18 at 08:44 PM.
  #8  
Old 03-28-18, 10:16 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,271
Received 43 Votes on 35 Posts
Thanks I think I will just go with the 15 amp breaker and 14/2 it will never get upgraded

The code requires you to follow the installation instructions. They said:



The instructions state
Electrical
230 V. 1 Phase 60 Hz
Max Breaker Size
20 amps
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: