Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Wires without a bushing in the panel on inspection report... HELP!?

Wires without a bushing in the panel on inspection report... HELP!?

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-02-18, 11:24 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wires without a bushing in the panel on inspection report... HELP!?

Hello,

I am selling my house and was told in the inspection report that some of the wires penetrating the panel are not protected with a wire bushing. Does anyone have a video or pictures that shows how to take care of this? I am having trouble finding examples online. How do I know what types of bushings I need? I'm a beginner at this sort of thing if you cant tell already.

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-02-18, 11:37 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,520
Received 505 Votes on 475 Posts
If you have the cover off the panel..... shoot and post a few pics for us.
How-insert-pictures

Depending on type of cable .... NM (non metallic) for example... they have split grommets you can install from inside the panel.

Name:  ko.jpg
Views: 245
Size:  6.3 KB
 
  #3  
Old 04-02-18, 11:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Picture of panel attached

I have attached a picture of the panel, thanks!

Name:  IMG_3643.jpg
Views: 385
Size:  85.2 KB

Name:  panel.jpg
Views: 260
Size:  21.4 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 04-02-18 at 12:07 PM. Reason: reoriented/enhanced picture
  #4  
Old 04-02-18, 12:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,520
Received 505 Votes on 475 Posts
I added a second enlarged picture. The split grommet I illustrated in my previous post will work. It may be tough to get in there as that doesn't look like a true 1/2" KO opening.

Worse comes to worst.... you could use a rubber grommet or a hard plastic bushing. Cut one side open. Takes a little doing to get in but will work there.

Name:  bushings.jpg
Views: 299
Size:  11.6 KB

Home improvement stores will carry all of them in the electrical aisle.
 
  #5  
Old 04-02-18, 12:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Should I do that to the wires that enter the panel on the top as well?

THanks!
 
  #6  
Old 04-02-18, 12:29 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,520
Received 505 Votes on 475 Posts
If they are the same size. Try squatting down and post a picture of just the top half of the panel.
 
  #7  
Old 04-02-18, 01:26 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,602
Received 7 Votes on 7 Posts
Here is another type that will work:

https://www.homedepot.com/p/Halex-3-...-100169655-_-N
 
  #8  
Old 04-02-18, 02:23 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,996
Received 39 Votes on 34 Posts
The cables should be clamped to the enclosure with a cable clsmp. The bushings posted do not clamp the cable.
 
  #9  
Old 04-02-18, 04:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
More pictures attached

Thank you for your help. I have to type at least 25 characters here.
 
Attached Images   
  #10  
Old 04-02-18, 04:54 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,253
Received 32 Votes on 26 Posts
Originally Posted by Wirepuller38 View Post
Here is another type that will work:

https://www.homedepot.com/p/Halex-3-...-100169655-_-N
These clamps can be installed from the inside and to aid the install remove the 2 screws and slide the two halves into place and replace the screws to clamp the cable.
 
  #11  
Old 04-02-18, 09:05 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,996
Received 39 Votes on 34 Posts
The empty knockout should have a knockout closure installed .
 
  #12  
Old 04-04-18, 10:27 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,836
Received 41 Votes on 40 Posts
While working in the panel, I would suggest turning off the main breaker (at the bottom). It will de-energize the bus bars up the middle - but the incoming wires will still be live.

You can definitely do what you need to do carefully - but be careful of screwdrivers and such while you're working in the panel.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: