Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Wires without a bushing in the panel on inspection report... HELP!?

Wires without a bushing in the panel on inspection report... HELP!?


  #1  
Old 04-02-18, 10:24 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wires without a bushing in the panel on inspection report... HELP!?

Hello,

I am selling my house and was told in the inspection report that some of the wires penetrating the panel are not protected with a wire bushing. Does anyone have a video or pictures that shows how to take care of this? I am having trouble finding examples online. How do I know what types of bushings I need? I'm a beginner at this sort of thing if you cant tell already.

Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 04-02-18, 10:37 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,837
Received 1,475 Votes on 1,363 Posts
If you have the cover off the panel..... shoot and post a few pics for us.
How-insert-pictures

Depending on type of cable .... NM (non metallic) for example... they have split grommets you can install from inside the panel.

Name:  ko.jpg
Views: 548
Size:  6.3 KB
 
  #3  
Old 04-02-18, 10:55 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Picture of panel attached

I have attached a picture of the panel, thanks!

Name:  IMG_3643.jpg
Views: 798
Size:  85.2 KB

Name:  panel.jpg
Views: 575
Size:  21.4 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 04-02-18 at 11:07 AM. Reason: reoriented/enhanced picture
  #4  
Old 04-02-18, 11:22 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,837
Received 1,475 Votes on 1,363 Posts
I added a second enlarged picture. The split grommet I illustrated in my previous post will work. It may be tough to get in there as that doesn't look like a true 1/2" KO opening.

Worse comes to worst.... you could use a rubber grommet or a hard plastic bushing. Cut one side open. Takes a little doing to get in but will work there.

Name:  bushings.jpg
Views: 679
Size:  11.6 KB

Home improvement stores will carry all of them in the electrical aisle.
 
  #5  
Old 04-02-18, 11:26 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Should I do that to the wires that enter the panel on the top as well?

THanks!
 
  #6  
Old 04-02-18, 11:29 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,837
Received 1,475 Votes on 1,363 Posts
If they are the same size. Try squatting down and post a picture of just the top half of the panel.
 
  #7  
Old 04-02-18, 12:26 PM
W
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,768
Received 31 Votes on 28 Posts
Here is another type that will work:

https://www.homedepot.com/p/Halex-3-...-100169655-_-N
 
  #8  
Old 04-02-18, 01:23 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,251
Received 112 Votes on 97 Posts
The cables should be clamped to the enclosure with a cable clsmp. The bushings posted do not clamp the cable.
 
  #9  
Old 04-02-18, 03:51 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
More pictures attached

Thank you for your help. I have to type at least 25 characters here.
 
Attached Images   
  #10  
Old 04-02-18, 03:54 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,573
Received 143 Votes on 116 Posts
Originally Posted by Wirepuller38 View Post
Here is another type that will work:

https://www.homedepot.com/p/Halex-3-...-100169655-_-N
These clamps can be installed from the inside and to aid the install remove the 2 screws and slide the two halves into place and replace the screws to clamp the cable.
 
  #11  
Old 04-02-18, 08:05 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,251
Received 112 Votes on 97 Posts
The empty knockout should have a knockout closure installed .
 
  #12  
Old 04-04-18, 09:27 AM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,756
Received 188 Votes on 168 Posts
While working in the panel, I would suggest turning off the main breaker (at the bottom). It will de-energize the bus bars up the middle - but the incoming wires will still be live.

You can definitely do what you need to do carefully - but be careful of screwdrivers and such while you're working in the panel.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: