Copper ground

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-02-18, 05:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 393
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Copper ground

On #6 copper ground wire is it best to go with solid or can stranded hold up ok considering outside tempts ,etc ?
Looks like some are using stranded more.

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-02-18, 07:06 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,552
Received 20 Votes on 20 Posts
Completely your choice of stranded or solid, or whatever the store has in stock or whatever you already have on hand.
 
  #3  
Old 04-02-18, 08:15 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I feel I getting a more solid connection with solid copper wires. Maybe I'm over-tightening the screws, but the stranded tends to shred and I don't feel I'm getting a solid connection.
 
  #4  
Old 04-02-18, 10:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 393
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes ,I can see where in the long run the bolt on lug with stranded wire may tend to loosen up easier after sitting many years, than the bolt on solid wire..
I already have both to choose from though size difference.Im leaning on going with the solid .
Can i double up with 2 #10 solid over 1 #8 stranded?.
 
  #5  
Old 04-03-18, 07:36 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,176
Received 23 Votes on 19 Posts
The grounding electrode conductor is to be a single conductor that is continuous from panel to the first electrode.
 
  #6  
Old 04-03-18, 09:29 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,944
Received 30 Votes on 26 Posts
Conductors smaller than 1/0 cannot be paralleled . Why do you need two #10s ?
 
  #7  
Old 04-04-18, 12:02 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,050
Received 26 Votes on 20 Posts
Looks like some are using stranded more.

I have always preferred the stranded over solid, stranded is easier to make a nice neat installation. Generally the home centers will only stock solid bare ground wire.
 
  #8  
Old 04-04-18, 07:36 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,965
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
The only time I will use solid #6 copper wire is to run to a ground rod or a water pipe.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: