Questions about subpanel installation

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-06-18, 07:14 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Questions about subpanel installation

I replaced a 60A disconnect (circuit breaker at main) with a subpanel and ran UF cable to a yard outlet. The UF cable is run in the dirt except through a 90 elbow and short PVC conduit to get it above ground as shown. While the current requirement is for a single 120V outlet, the future may require a 240V circuit (also running towards the right also in the dirt). Here are my questions:

1) Do I need a junction box or can I put a couple of more 90s and PVC conduit to get it to the panel? There are already a couple of more conduit 90s close to the outlet. As a side question ... once you're in the dirt, does the 360 degree bend or less code restriction reset?

2) Does code allow you to run UF inside conduit to cover this short distance to the panel? This may drive the decision on the junction box.

3) Can any further conduit to get to the panel still be PVC or do I need to go to EMT?

4) Are there any code requirements on the height of the junction box or further conduit runs?

Installation is in US (Texas specifically). Thank you for taking the time to look at my questions.
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-06-18, 07:26 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
No limit on using PVC conduit as sleeves to protect it above ground. #6 Uf is only rated for 55 amps and generally a 50 amp breaker is used.. What size UF did you use? General purpose 120 volt circuits can be fused for no more than 20 amps. What is the 120v for? If this is a spa cable can not be used because ground wires outside to spas must be insulated.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 04-06-18 at 10:34 AM.
  #3  
Old 04-06-18, 08:35 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,256
Received 33 Votes on 27 Posts
Did you bury the UF at the proper depth? Are you feeding the 120V UF circuit from a GFI breaker or using a GFCI outlet on the end? This will make a difference in the bury depth required.
 
  #4  
Old 04-06-18, 08:50 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
@ray2047 - the subpanel is energized from #6 (i think) copper wire from within the exterior wall by way of the main panel with a couple of 60A breakers. The UF cable you see is a branch circuit using standard 12/2 wire and is feeding a couple of outlets in the yard.

@pattenp - my cable is buried at 24" so I think I'm covered. I have choices on the GFCI configuration but currently my first (of two) outlet is a GFCI outlet.
 
  #5  
Old 04-06-18, 08:58 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
The UF cable you see is a branch circuit using standard 12/2 wire and is feeding a couple of outlets in the yard.
Is it on a 20 amp breaker?
 
  #6  
Old 04-06-18, 10:30 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, that is correct.... 20A breaker will be installed in this subpanel.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: