Single gang, double switch half works?

Old 04-06-18, 10:14 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Single gang, double switch half works?

Hey there, please bear with me as I am a plumber and will most likely use terms that make sense to me but are quite incorrect when it comes to electrical.

So I have an existing (Leviton) double switch in my bathroom controlling my light and ceiling fan. Just recently, when I went to switch on the light (top switch in this case), the ceiling fixture was flickering and I could hear a clicking sound in the switch. I tapped the switch with my finger and the light went out. The fan switch still works normally but I can no longer control my light.

I went to take a look in the box to see if I could see any loose wiring or maybe a short, but couldn't find anything. It is also a little more full than any wiring diagram I was able to find for a similar switch. From my understanding this switch is in series with the bathroom and hall plugs. Most wiring diagrams I found show either one source and one load cables (two wire) or one source, one load and one more going to plugs in series. I have 4 two wire cables coming into the single gang box. Each has their neutral wire meretted together and their hot going to one of the 4 terminals on the switch.

I have rambled, so I guess my question is, is it possible for one of the switches on a double switch to work while the other does not? If so, do I simply need to replace the switch with another similar type? Is there anything I should know?

Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
Old 04-06-18, 10:33 PM
Group Moderator
Received 514 Votes on 484 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

is it possible for one of the switches on a double switch to work while the other does not?
Absolutely. There's a lot of stuff packed in that switch.

You have 4) two wire cables. All neutrals tied together.
One cable is power in.
One cable is power out.
One cable goes to the light.
One cable goes to the fan.