Fluctuating power at my house

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-07-18, 09:25 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Fluctuating power at my house

Hi!
It started Thursday afternoon, suddenly my power is fluctuating, I cannot turn on appliances that take power to start like dryer. When i turn on Microwave it dims the other lights. The funny part is my Refrigerator and Heating is working fine for now and so is my washer. These appliances are on different breakers and my kitchen appliances have sub panel. I called the Power Company they checked outside and said there's no issue. Any suggestions? I have called the electrician too, lets see if they can come today. I asked my neighbors and they don't have any issue.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-07-18, 11:01 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 21,382
Received 297 Votes on 271 Posts
Well, you've already called an electrician. How much investigating do you feel like doing? Do you have a volt meter or electrical tester?
 
  #3  
Old 04-07-18, 02:05 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,775
Received 33 Votes on 32 Posts
As you may have read in other posts, if you're noticing this mostly with 240v appliances, you're probably suffering from a loose neutral. Either in your panel or meter base.

It's something you can definitely do some testing for - but you need to be comfortable working in your panel to test it out and tighten any lose connections.
 
  #4  
Old 04-07-18, 04:47 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 8,555
Received 27 Votes on 26 Posts
Call the electric co. emergency line. Usually at no charge they will check out to see if on there side of service.
 
  #5  
Old 04-07-18, 09:15 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,174
Received 475 Votes on 445 Posts
Did the power company check inside the meter pan too ?

Since you have a problem with 240v appliances.... it would appear that you are losing one leg of the service. Like mentioned.... a meter would be required to check voltages.

Typically a leg would be lost in the meter pan or at the main breaker. Could be a defective main breaker where it attaches to the panel bus bars. Could be a loose wire in the meter pan or on the main breaker.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: