Wiring a feed grinder

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-13-18, 09:57 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring a feed grinder

I am planning to wire a new feed grinder. I am wondering about breaker size to power it. Would I need to go to 40 amps twin pole since the start up amps are 31 amps? Here are the specs I have on the machine. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
  • 220V
  • 2.0 HP motor
  • 1500 watts
  • Start-up draw 31 amps, under load draw 6-7.5 amps
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-13-18, 10:04 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Breakers are inherently slow blow devices and since start loads are short there shouldn't be a problem even on a 15 amp circuit..
 

Last edited by ray2047; 04-13-18 at 02:00 PM. Reason: Clarification
  #3  
Old 04-13-18, 01:17 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
Either a 15A or 20A double-pole breaker would be OK for this grinder. Virtually all breakers have an HACR rating which means they are designed to allow the start up surge from motors without tripping. Wiring size can be #14 copper if less than 100 feet.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: