Removing unused cable tv lines in basement?

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-19-18, 10:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 891
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Removing unused cable tv lines in basement?

The previous owner was big into networks and computers and stuff and ran a ton of different cable lines throughout the house and the basement. We have cable tv and of course wireless, but most of those lines are unused and connect to some sort of thing below.

Is it ok to start removing some of these unused lines? Is it ok to throw them out or do they belong to the cable company? I have no idea which one that may be since it was installed years ago I would assume.

The mess at the bottom has been hanging there by my work bench for a few years now since we bought the house and is a real eyesore!
 
Attached Images   
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-19-18, 11:41 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,983
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
The black all look to be old cable television . If they are of no use to you you can remove them.
 
  #3  
Old 04-19-18, 11:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 891
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by pcboss View Post
The black all look to be old cable television . If they are of no use to you you can remove them.
Would they have "juice" in them? Are they safe to CUT into? I think it's easier if I cut a little and then pull it through the multiple ties etc.
 
  #4  
Old 04-20-18, 12:58 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
They don't carry electric so safe to cut.
 
  #5  
Old 04-20-18, 01:28 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 891
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by ray2047 View Post
They don't carry electric so safe to cut.
Good! Can't wait to get rid of this crap! I just gotta keep the ones that go to the cable box upstairs and the wifi router.
 
  #6  
Old 04-20-18, 04:18 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: North East Kingdom of Vermont
Posts: 2,533
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
You have Cable TV in Maine ?

That bottom picture looks like an intact Telephone line, similar to what I have available to my Satellite TV Receiver so that they can periodically call and check to make sure that the receiver hasn't been moved to another location where that specific land line wouldn't work.

It also provides the Caller ID information on every TV Screen when a call comes in.
 
  #7  
Old 04-20-18, 05:22 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 8,559
Received 27 Votes on 26 Posts
The white wires look like phone wires. Don't cut them if you have a land line.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: