Can't bury it

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-21-18, 12:20 PM
maarkr's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 309
Received 4 Votes on 2 Posts
Question Can't bury it

I want to run a line/conduit from an exterior GFCI outlet box to a shed about 6' from the home. I just need a std 15 amp outlet in the shed and a light. my prob is the line can't be buried... 6" down is ledge.
Now what?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-21-18, 01:04 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
You could go overhead. .
 
  #3  
Old 04-21-18, 01:51 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,175
Received 23 Votes on 19 Posts
Bury at the 6 inches and cover with 2 inches of concrete and place marker tape on top of concrete and backfill.
 
  #4  
Old 04-21-18, 02:35 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,941
Received 30 Votes on 26 Posts
Would using an extension cord br that hard to do? How often is the shed used?
 
  #5  
Old 04-21-18, 02:48 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
NEC table 3005 column 2. If you use RMC you can go 6" no concrete.
 
Attached Images  

Last edited by ray2047; 04-21-18 at 04:43 PM.
  #6  
Old 04-21-18, 08:02 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,464
Received 28 Votes on 24 Posts
#1, No way would I just plug it into an outlet on the side of the house!
Should be on it's own circuit back to the panel
Out building should be 20 amp. not 15.
Outlets in out building need to be GFI protected.
Run the wires in conduit.
Pattenp suggestion would also be legal.
 
  #7  
Old 04-22-18, 08:25 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,941
Received 30 Votes on 26 Posts
For occasional usage a cord would be fine. The OP already has gfi protection at the exterior receptacle . A 15 amp circuit will power many small power tools. It would not need to be 20 amps.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: