Adding an Electrical outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-26-18, 06:21 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Adding an Electrical outlet

i would like to add an electrical outlet to my kitchen island. The island sits on a concrete slab so I canít come up from the floor with a new circuit. The cook top is electric and is wired with 4 wires, can I use these wires to add a 15 amp 120 circuit?
 
  #2  
Old 04-26-18, 06:31 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,247
Received 111 Votes on 97 Posts
The cooktop wiring is not the proper ampacity to allow the installation of a 20 amp receptacle.
 
  #3  
Old 04-26-18, 06:36 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How were the original wires run? If there is existing conduit, you may be able to add to it
 
  #4  
Old 04-26-18, 06:55 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,864
Received 87 Votes on 81 Posts
#1 You need 20 amp. GFI protected, not 15 amp. in a kitchen.
#2 That cooktop uses 240 volt, not 120, so no that will not work.
 
  #5  
Old 04-27-18, 11:39 AM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,673
Received 178 Votes on 159 Posts
I think Austin's comment is probably your best answer. Chances are, a conduit was run before the slab was poured, then the wires pulled through afterwards. If this is the case, and depending on the size of the conduit, another 2 wires could likely be pulled through for what you want.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: