Another outbuilding circuit question

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-28-18, 11:35 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ohio usa
Posts: 143
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Another outbuilding circuit question

We need a 120V circuit to an outbuilding that sits only about 20 feet from the house. The circuit will only be used for a battery charger so the amperage draw will be very small. From what I've read and believe necessary here is the plan:

1) Continue an existing circuit off an interior receptacle by drilling through the wall and mounting a weatherproof 1 gang box. (Running a new dedicated circuit would be difficult as the service panel is on the opposite side of the house).

2) Install a gfci in the weatherproof box. Alternately replace the receptacle breaker with a gfci breaker in service panel.

3) Run 12/2 underground feeder cable buried in a trench 12" deep.

4) Protect the above ground cable with a short section of pvc schedule 40 conduit on each end of the run.

Any suggestions or changes? Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-28-18, 12:38 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Your thinking is sound. You will need a disconnect where it enters the shed. A simple light switch will work for that.
 
  #3  
Old 04-28-18, 12:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ohio usa
Posts: 143
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Ray,

"You will need a disconnect where it enters the shed. A simple light switch will work for that. "

I'm assuming I can mount a 2 gang box on the inside of the shed, with a switch and receptacle together.
 
  #4  
Old 04-28-18, 01:54 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Yes. .
 
  #5  
Old 04-29-18, 07:50 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ohio usa
Posts: 143
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I understand this is a code requirement but I'm just curious about what the reasoning is for requiring a disconnect switch on the circuit, especially if mounted withing the same box.
 
  #6  
Old 04-29-18, 08:13 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,999
Received 40 Votes on 35 Posts
The disconnect removes all power from the building .
 
  #7  
Old 04-29-18, 08:37 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,065
Received 74 Votes on 66 Posts
It is the same requirement as your house, or any building for that matter. Your house has a main disconnect likely on the main panel or near the electrical meter.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: