Add additional bus bar to old GE panel

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-02-18, 03:17 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Add additional ground/neutral bar to old GE panel

My house was built in 1972 and has the original GE panel in it. I'm currently replacing the electric water heater with a gas tankless, and so the dual pole 30A circuit needs to go to a single 20A. My issue is that my ground and neutral bars are full. It looks like there is space to add one, and they still make the model the panel has listed on the door, but i'm not finding one that would install elevated over the other 2. My other option would be to double up some of the grounds. Should i go that route? Or does anyone know where i might find the right part? Thanks!

Attachment 93009Attachment 93010
 
  #2  
Old 05-02-18, 03:48 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 5,006
Received 89 Votes on 84 Posts
Hi, you can double up on the grounds ,Your pics did not show up.
Geo
 
  #3  
Old 05-02-18, 04:40 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry about the images, they showed up in the preview. Doubling up would probably be the easiest route. Thanks!

Name:  2018-05-01 20.42.08.jpg
Views: 844
Size:  91.3 KB
 
  #4  
Old 05-02-18, 05:39 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 5,006
Received 89 Votes on 84 Posts
Hi, if you have room on the side of the panel maybe you could install a ground bar like this.
https://www.homedepot.com/p/Square-D...TACP/202353315
Geo
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: