Electrical Outlet Question

Old 05-04-18, 08:30 AM
W
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Electrical Outlet Question

First off, I am by no means an electrician, but trying to understand what I am seeing when using a digital multimeter at some of the outlets in my kitchen. First this is an older home and none of the outlets are grounded. Based on that I have replaced many of them with GFCI outlets until I can get this fixed. On one of the GFCI outlets I have my refrigerator plugged in. Recently my wife received a nice jolt from it, but GFCI didn't trip. So did some testing with multi meter and I found that when contacting the metal frame of the fridge with a ground and/or neutral I was seeing 120 volts. So I tested the outlet with a digital multimeter and found the following.

Hot to Neutral: Somewhere around 120V, which I expect
Hot to Ground: 0V, which I expect because I have no ground
Neutral to Ground: 120V, this is very strange to me because there is absolutely nothing connected to the ground on these outlets.

I also visually verified white and black wires are not reversed on this outlet, and the ground has no wire connected or somehow touching hot or neutral wires.

Based on this I replaced the outlet thinking voltage is somehow leaking over to the ground within the outlet itself, and that seemed to help, now seeing 50 volts or so. What is really strange is that number seems to decrease if I remove the outlet from the metal box it is housed in. Note I am seeing the same thing with a kitchen aid appliance on this same outlet. Okay so I then tested some other outlets in the kitchen and finding the same thing with about half the outlets.

I am likely going to call an electrician out, but any advise thoughts ad to what is going on here?

Old 05-04-18, 08:39 AM
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
What is the voltage from disconnected hot to the metal junction box?

Old 05-04-18, 08:44 AM
W