Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Installed new fixture and now several lights on same breaker are out

Installed new fixture and now several lights on same breaker are out

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-04-18, 06:29 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Installed new fixture and now several lights on same breaker are out

Hi all! I am hoping to get some help on a new light fixture I tried to install. We have an old fixture we wanted to swap out an a old fixture to match the newer fixtures in the same area. Ok, no problem. I've changed out fixtures before should be easy. Well I get the old one off and I note two additional 2-conductor cables in the box besides the one in use. No problem, probably just something I've not run into before so I leave them be. I connect the new fixture to the box (white-white, black-black, ground-ground. Restore restore power and not only does the fixture installed not work but neither do for other lights on the same breaker. However another light and Outlet on the same breaker do still work. The light I tried to change is controlled by a single switch. The other for light fixtures that are now out, are also controlled by single switches.

not sure where I went wrong on installing this fixture. I checked the wires in the box with my non-contact tester. The two black wires wired together appear to be hot, the two white wires wire together appeared to be not hot. The the white and black wire use for the fixture do not read as hot. The attached picture is what I have in my box at this time. Any help you can provide is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!
 
Attached Images  

Last edited by thomas91; 05-04-18 at 06:44 AM. Reason: More info
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-04-18, 07:38 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I checked the wires in the box with my non-contact tester.
Non contact testers show false positives way to often to be useful for real testing. Test the disconnected cables with a multimeter or test light. Is one cable hot tested black to white with switch off?

If there is only two wires at the switch though, just a black and white on the switch, you have a switch loop. Have you worked with switch loops?

Switch loop example:
 
Attached Images  
  #3  
Old 05-04-18, 11:00 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for the reply. I will check with a multimeter after work. I have not worked with switch loops in the past. I will check the switch as well and see if I have a switch loop.
 
  #4  
Old 05-04-18, 12:35 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,943
Received 30 Votes on 26 Posts
If the only connections you changed were the ones going to the fixture it should not changed anything .
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: