Questions about Service Entry

Old 05-09-18, 06:18 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Questions about Service Entry

Hello everyone! This is my first time on the forums, but I decided to join as I'm in the midst of rewiring an old home I bought and have some questions.

We are relocating the main panel and service drop location from a closet in the bedroom to the exterior garage wall. In this process we are also rewiring the entire house with new wires, adding circuits, and increasing the service from 100A to 200A.

I did have a few questions about the entire process as I am not a certified electrician but have spent hours learning the codes and speaking with my local building department when clarification was needed. Our CSED is a semi flush mounted and all wires/conduit is ran inside the wall. I am uncertain if the conduit from the service weather head on the roof needs to be ran all the way to the box, or if it stops somewhere inside the wall and the wire just continues down to the panel and is secured with a NM Screw Clamp Connector. Otherwise, how do I properly run my 4/0 Aluminum wires from the weather head to the CSED securely? Can the 2" conduit be Sch. 40 PCV or does it have to be EMT?

Another question pertains to a 200A subpanel that will be fed via the feeder lugs in the CSED. How do you secure the cables entering and leaving the panels? Do you use a Screw Clamp or is there some special adapter that is meant to be used? I do not plan on running these wires in conduit as its only 12' away and there just isn't any need as it will be secured and hidden in the ceiling of the garage.

Any help and input is GREATLY appreciated. I plan on asking my contact in the building department soon for another barrage of questions, but did want to get feedback from this forum! If all goes well you may see me around more!

Sponsored Links
Old 05-09-18, 06:27 PM
Group Moderator
Received 477 Votes on 447 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

CSED = combination service entry device.