NEC code guidance

Old 05-13-18, 07:24 PM
O
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
NEC code guidance

I am in the planning stage for a complete kitchen reno and need some guidance understanding the electric code requirements. Note that I am not a licensed electrician, but I am an experienced DIYer who has upgraded a meter socket and service panel as well as wired several bathrooms. I research extensively prior to beginning work and permit jobs as required to ensure NEC 2017 compliance.

I have 11 breaker spaces available in my 30 space, 200 amp service panel. Based on my current understanding of code requirements, it is going to be a tight fit. The ideal configuration would require 1 more slot than I have available:
  1. microwave
  2. range hood
  3. garbage disposal
  4. dishwasher
  5. refrigerator
  6. receptacle circuit #1
  7. receptacle circuit #2
  8. overhead lights
  9. cooktop (pole 1)
  10. cooktop (pole 2)
  11. double wall oven (pole 1)
  12. double wall oven (pole 2)

There are a few possible solutions in order of preference.
  • Option A: If I understand 220.55 correctly, the cooktop (9.6 kW) and wall oven (7.4 kW) can be on the same circuit.
  • Option B: If code allows it I could combine some existing circuits to make more room. I currently have 2 circuits for outdoor outlets. The garage and unfinished basement are also separate.
  • Option C: Install a combination range rather separate oven and cooktop units. My wife would prefer separate units and a double oven.
  • Option D: I could install tandem breakers for existing non AFCI circuits, but this is a temporary solution.
  • Option E: Last resort would be to upgrade to a larger panel. I just installed the panel last year, and more than 30 spaces seems like overkill for a house the size of mine.

Guidance is appreciated!

Old 05-13-18, 08:24 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts