Adding a Light Fixture

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-22-18, 06:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Adding a Light Fixture

Hello,

Trying to wire a fixture but really cant figure this out. I opened the cover and found a million wires. Red , brown/blue , black are all live. The rest look like ground?

I believe Red is meant for the fixture, it was completely insulated when I found it and was tagged as live. I measure 120V from red to white (good) but when I toggle the light switch I measure 37V across. I still measure current with my electrical tester. This really confused me.

If I disconnect the 2 black wires so they're not making contact with each other, I will then be measuring 25V across red to white. The measurement goes to 0 when I toggle the switch. Also confirmed with electrical tester which no longer beeps.

Makes no sense!!! Help??

Name:  IMAG6338.jpg
Views: 80
Size:  52.5 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 05-22-18 at 07:50 PM. Reason: enlarged/enhanced picture
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-22-18, 07:54 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,567
Received 410 Votes on 385 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Don't randomly open or change any splices. There are way too many wires in that box.
Looks like at least six cables.

Red is your switched hot and the large white splice is your neutral connection.
Measuring 37v with the switch off using a digital meter is normal. It's a residual or ghost voltage read by sensitive meters when a tested dead wire is near a live wire.
 
  #3  
Old 05-23-18, 04:59 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hmm interesting. Thank you for the response.

So I should go ahead and use the red and the white?

I was worried that the light would be constantly consuming power with the red being 37V. That's not the case?
 

Last edited by _rara_; 05-23-18 at 05:18 AM.
  #4  
Old 05-23-18, 05:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The voltage detector beeps around the red wire regardless of the switch position as well. Is this normal? Will it beep around a ghost voltage?

I did some quick googling.. I don't have a low impedance setting on my multimeter to verify that it's a ghost voltage. Is there any other method I can use? Should the voltage go away if I connect the light fixture?
 
  #5  
Old 05-23-18, 05:58 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
The voltage detector beeps around the red wire regardless of the switch position
More toy then a real test instrument. Has its uses but can't be trusted.

I don't have a low impedance setting on my multimeter to verify that it's a ghost voltage. Is there any other method I can use?
Use an analog multimeter. They are low impedance. You can also put a load across the hot and neutral before measuring.
 
  #6  
Old 05-23-18, 07:17 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,069
Received 19 Votes on 19 Posts
Hi,was there a fixture there that you removed ? If so use those 2 conductors for the new fixture. As mentioned DON’T OPEN ANY SPLICES!
Geo
 
  #7  
Old 05-23-18, 01:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No fixtures before.

I heard you loud and clear won't open any splices anymore.

I'm going to try and connect a load between red and white and measure the voltage as I press the switch. I'll report back.
 
  #8  
Old 05-23-18, 07:49 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,567
Received 410 Votes on 385 Posts
Connect a lamp there. Connect your fixture and try it.
 
  #9  
Old 05-28-18, 07:29 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Done and working

thanks for the help everyone. Much appreciated.
 
  #10  
Old 05-28-18, 07:36 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,069
Received 19 Votes on 19 Posts
Thanks for the update.
Geo
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: