Spa ground rod

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-25-18, 02:58 AM
Marq1's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA MI
Posts: 4,987
Received 172 Votes on 159 Posts
Spa ground rod

Prepping site for a new slab for the spa.

Will be installing PVC conduit under the slab for electrical to eliminate the over slab connection that current location has.

I need to install a ground rod, assume it will just be sticking up through the slab,

Are there any requirements for where/how this is installed?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-25-18, 03:11 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,665
Received 519 Votes on 489 Posts
If this is a spa that sits on a pad.... it doesn't need a ground rod.
Who told you that you needed a ground rod ?
 
  #3  
Old 05-25-18, 04:18 AM
Marq1's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA MI
Posts: 4,987
Received 172 Votes on 159 Posts
A copper bonding lug has been provided on the electrical equipment pack to allow connection to local ground points. The ground wire must be at least 8 AWG copper wire and must be connected securely to a grounded metal structure such as a cold water pipe.

The manufacturer states the unit must be grounded,
 
  #4  
Old 05-25-18, 06:26 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,999
Received 40 Votes on 35 Posts
You do not ground a spa to a ground rod. It is done with a grounding conductor run with the circuit.

you may need a bond grid depending on which code cycle you are under.
 
  #5  
Old 05-25-18, 06:28 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,999
Received 40 Votes on 35 Posts
Those instructions do not follow the NEC . You do not ground equipment to water pipes.
 
  #6  
Old 05-26-18, 03:22 AM
Marq1's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA MI
Posts: 4,987
Received 172 Votes on 159 Posts
Without making this overly complex, inside the cabinet there is a copper wire that runs to all the components pumps/motors/heaters/etc, this is not an electrical wiring question.

All the ground wires terminate at a block which is labeled ground. The original installers have a copper wire from this block going to a ground rod.

All I am doing is replicating what is already there when the spa gets relocated to the new pad.

The electrical service will come up through the center of the pad vs routing over the top like current,

I am going to install the ground rod up through the pad in the same general location of the conduit,

All I am asking is if there are any requirement for distance away from the service wiring otherwise it will get 6" of clearance.
 
  #7  
Old 05-26-18, 04:20 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
The original installers have a copper wire from this block going to a ground rod
That was wrong and needs to be disconnected from the ground rod.

I am going to install the ground rod up through the pad
Just remove the ground rod.

What you do need is four wires to the SPA. One wire must be an insulated ground wire. It can not be a bare ground such as found in cable. (Assumes spa is outside.)
 
  #8  
Old 05-26-18, 05:11 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,065
Received 74 Votes on 66 Posts
The original installers did it wrong! Forget the ground rod!

A ground rod is no longer an acceptable grounding path. Ground rods are only a low impedance path to the earth for high surge events such as lightning strikes. Forget the ground rod.

What you need to do is run an equipment ground wire from the panel where the branch circuit originates to the spa with the other conductors. Connect the equipment ground to the ground block in the spa.

Did I mention to forget the ground rod?
 

Last edited by Tolyn Ironhand; 05-26-18 at 02:20 PM.
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: