outside wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-28-18, 09:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
outside wiring

I have a shed that is 10 feet from my house and the main power line connection-there are currently two separate wires running to the shed-I would like to get rid of these wires and switch to buried conduit but am unsure what type of wire to use-any advice?
Thanks
sbryant
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-28-18, 09:51 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
By two wires currently running to the shed do you really man wires or cables?

what type of wire to use-
Do you want just a single 120 volt 20 amp feed.
 
  #3  
Old 05-29-18, 05:54 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 73
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You can use THHN inside buried conduit. If you want to run a buried wire, it would need to be U.F, type. Either way, code calls for a fused or circuit breaker disconnect inside the shed. You can't just run to an outlet or switch. If you want 120/240V service to the shed, you need 4 wires..., 2 hot, 1 neutral and 1 ground.
 
  #4  
Old 05-29-18, 06:37 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
If you want to run a buried wire, it would need to be U.F, type.
UF is not wire it is a cable. Wire is a single conductor. Cable is to or more wires on a metaliic or a non metallic sheath such as UF.

Either way, code calls for a fused or circuit breaker disconnect inside the shed.
No. Per NEC a single 120 volt circuit* requires only a disconnect such as a light type switch, no fuse or breaker box needed.

* A multiwire feed which provides two 120 volt circuits can also be use with only a disconnect, either a pull out such as used for air conditioners or a two pole toggle switch.
 
  #5  
Old 05-29-18, 06:39 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,980
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
A simple toggle switch will work as a disconnect on a single circuit to the shed.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: