Decouple receptacle from OH light switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-03-18, 06:06 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Decouple receptacle from OH light switch

We just bought a house that has only one outlet in the bathroom - unfortunately (and inexplicably) it's controlled by an adjacent overhead light switch. We'd like to decouple the receptacle from the switch, but retain the switch's OH light function. Here's what I found in the boxes:

Switch
2 black wires on top: one to screw (controls light) one to push connection (controls receptacle)
1 black wire on bottom to screw (assume power from source)
2 white wires nutted together
Ground nutted together (actually not a nut, but cinched together)

Receptacle (GCFI)
1 white wire on bottom to right screw (as viewed when in the wall)
1 black wire on bottom to left screw
GND attached to bottom

From what I've read, to decouple the outlet from the switch I should:
(1) remove the switch-receptacle connection (black wire top push connection)
(2) remove the switch power source connection (black wire bottom screw)
(3) wire nut the above 2 with an additional short black wire lead
(4) attach the short wire lead to the switch power source connection (bottom screw connection)

Does this sound correct? Any other better ways to do this, aside from running new wires?

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-03-18, 06:50 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,973
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
Your plan sounds good. It is better to use pigtails and wirenuts then using the back stabs.
 
  #3  
Old 06-04-18, 03:59 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 28
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I will concur. That will work and should be safe.

On Edit: The receptacle was probably originally intended to be used for shaving (i.e. electric shaver) and the builder assumed that you'd never wish to shave in the dark.
 

Last edited by 9600-8N1; 06-04-18 at 04:00 PM. Reason: Add more info
  #4  
Old 06-06-18, 07:31 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks all - worked like a charm! Officially my first venture into home electrical. Next up: installing a GFCI breaker in the panel that serves 6 receptacles that were wired apparently without a ground (separate thread, obviously).
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: