Welder kicking out breaker

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-05-18, 07:20 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Welder kicking out breaker

Hi guys. I have a problem with my welder kicking out the main 50 amp breaker. What i don't understand, is i have a secondary box, with the welder connected to a 30 amp breaker, after the main 50 amp breaker, but the 30 amp breaker ( which is 5 feet away, versus the 50 amp breaker's 50 yard distance ) never kicks out? Do i have a bad 50, or 30 amp breaker?
 
  #2  
Old 06-05-18, 07:24 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,803
Received 252 Votes on 220 Posts
I would suspect the 50 amp breaker is having issues, Check all the connections on the 50 amp breaker to make sure they are all good a tight. If they are, try replacing the 50 amp breaker. While replacing the breaker make sure the busses are good.

Only exception would be if any of the breakers are FPE. If so, all bets are off.
 
  #3  
Old 06-05-18, 07:46 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Tolyn, i do have another spare 50 amp breaker, and i'll give'er a try. Not a certified electrician Tolyn, so i don't know what FPE stands for?
 
  #4  
Old 06-05-18, 08:18 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Searched, and found meaning of FPE. My secondary breaker box, is the one with the 30 amp breaker in it, and it's an Eaton. The main breaker box contains the 50 amp breaker, but not sure what brand it is, but fairly certain it's NOT an FPE Tolyn. Can't check right now, as it's dark, and i have several Black bear visitors. They are very quiet walkers, and black as coal, so i'll check it out tomorrow.................when it's daylight....lol
 
  #5  
Old 06-06-18, 05:46 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,963
Received 88 Votes on 83 Posts
I would say it's probably not a Federal Pacific, it wouldn't trip if it was.
Just Saying!
Geo
 
  #6  
Old 06-06-18, 07:57 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,513
Received 125 Votes on 99 Posts
So there are no other loads on the primary panel when using the welder? Meaning that the 50A main breaker has no loads on it other than what's on the 30A breaker.
 
  #7  
Old 06-06-18, 03:59 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No Pattonp, nothing else on that circuit. I did however change it out today, and finished all my welding, without so much as a burp. Obviously the 50 amp breaker was bad. The circuit panel box is a Square D, also. Thanks for all the help, and input guys, i'm now a happy camper
 
  #8  
Old 06-06-18, 07:36 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,803
Received 252 Votes on 220 Posts
Glad we could help! Yes, I have seen breakers that get weak over time.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: